

NEWSLETTER

IRE Professional Group on ULTRASONICS ENGINEERING

THE PROFESSIONAL GROUP ON ULTRASONICS ENGINEERING (PGUE) IS AN ASSOCIATION OF IRE MEMBERS WITH PROFESSIONAL INTEREST IN THE FIELD OF ULTRASONICS ENGINEERING. ALL IRE MEMBERS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR MEMBERSHIP AND WILL RECEIVE ALL PGUE PUBLICATIONS UPON PAYMENT OF THE PRESCRIBED ASSESSMENT.

No. 5

法部務の

April 26, 1955

CALL FOR PAPERS

Your Group is sponsoring a session on Ultrasonics at the National Electronics Conference (NEC) in Chicago on October 3-5, 1955. Potential authors of papers for the NEC session, please contact Dr. Oskar Mattiat, Clevite-Brush Development Company, 3405 Perkins Avenue, Cleveland 14, Ohio. Information regarding proposed papers including title, authors, and abstracts (six copies) should be in his hands by June 1, 1955. The abstracts should not exceed 200 words in length. Only papers not previously published will be accepted. The completed manuscripts need not be submitted till September 6, 1955.

TRANSACTIONS INSTITUTIONAL LISTINGS

Advertising is available and is in fact being actively solicited for the TRANSACTIONS. They consist of two-line institutional listings giving names, addresses and products or services of interested firms. This is a wonderful opportunity to place your firm's name and its products before a specially selected group of engineers vitally interested in ultrasonic problems. Your listing will at the same time help finance your Group ventures, enabling better publications for the future. IRE Headquarters should be referred to for such listings. The charge is \$20.00 per listing and \$35.00 for listing in two successive TRANSACTIONS.

NEW OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE

Your Group Administrative Committee held its sixth meeting on March 22, 1955 in New York City on the occasion of the second anniversary of the PGUE. Three new members to the Committee were elected by the hold-over members. The three were chosen from a slate of six nominated by a special Nominating Committee. The latter Committee consisted of Frank Massa, Chairman; Francis X. Byrnes; Hugh S. Knowles; and Karl S. Van Dyke. The three new members elected to three year terms starting July 1, 1955 are as follows:

- 1. Walther A. Andersen, Andersen Laboratories, Inc.
- 2. Cyril M. Harris, Columbia University
- 3. Theron M. Lambert, U. S. Navy Electronics Laboratory

The three retiring members of the Administrative Committee are Julius Bernstein, W. J. Fry, and Frank Massa.

HE INSTITUTE OF RADIO ENGINEERS, INC., I EAST 79 STREET, NEW YORK 21, N.Y.

The Committee elected the following Group officers:

Chairman: Morton D. Fagen, Bell Laboratories Vice Chairman: Julia Herrick, Mayo Clinic Editor-in-Chief, TRANSACTIONS: Oskar Mattiat, Clevite-Brush Development (reelected)

In addition, Julius Bernstein remains as Treasurer with Donald Berlincourt being reelected Associate Editor. The retiring officers include Amor Lane as Chairman and Morris Kenny as Secretary.

The following were reappointed as Committee Chairmen: Frank Massa, Nominations; W. J. Fry, Papers Study and Review; Julius Bernstein, Convention Record. In addition, Amor Lane was appointed Chairman of the Membership Committee.

A. L. LANE, Chairman

١