Sensory Systems Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Annual Meeting Agenda ISCAS 2014 Date: Monday 2nd June 2014 Time: 12:00 – 13:30 Room 215, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

1. Approval of Agenda

The chair-elect, Piotr Dudek welcomed the participants. The agenda was approved unanimously.

Franco Maloberti (CASS president-elect) addressed the committee stating that sensorysystems carries an important role with CASS. He would however like to see closer integration with other TCs. Suggested website is redesigned (mentioned this is already in progress). Also, suggested if anyone has ideas for special activities should engage with CASS – funding is available.

2. Introduction of Members

The meeting participants briefly introduced themselves. 29 people were present at the meeting including 25 TC current members and 4 prospective members. The attending people are listed in Appendix A.

3. New members

Tobi Delbruck proposed: Mika Laiho, Eero Lehtonen, University of Turku. Piotr Dudek proposed Stephen Carey, University of Manchester. Alejandro Linares-Barranco proposed Jie Chen, University of Alberta.

New members are approved by unanimously.

4. Approval of 2013 Minutes

Minutes of 2013 minutes approved unanimously.

5. Annual report of 2013-2014

Annual report for 2013-14 approved unanimously.

Piotr mentioned at the technical activities meetings – emphasis was given to TC activities report. Should continually revise mission statement and investigate new outreach mechanisms. Questioned how useful a list of "mini-CVs" is- and perhaps should be curated/select the most significant publications. Sandro suggested each member select

one key paper that gets showcased. Unanimously agreed. In future will include in template.

6. SSTC activities.

Demonstration track is now continuing for a 6th year. Current demos chair (ISCAS 2014) from our TC (Pantelis Georgiou).

Distinguished Lecturer Programme (DLP) – our nomination submitted last year was unsuccessful. From our committee Amine Bermak currently serving 2^{nd} year of service. New call due soon – members should consider relevant (and strong) nominations in SSTC remit.

Following technical activities meeting – tried to review the responsibilities of TCs:

- Awards nominations this is generally something TCs could/should do. SSTC does not currently do this as a committee. Ralph Etienne-Cummings mentioned TBioCAS did not get sufficient nominations for best paper award –so not awarded this year. Should be active in nominating good papers. Also TC can endorse/support IEEE Fellow application (or nomination via chair). Ralph additionally mentioned that he can nominate candidates for the IEEE biomedical medals award members should let him know if anyone has candidates in mind with significant contributions.
- Conference organization It has been suggested that the TC should have stronger role in organisation of other IEEE CASS conferences to ensure quality.
- Bylaws these will be revised across all TCs to make more consistent. Generally aim is to explicitly state certain responsibilities (eg. reviewer responsibilities). Also want to make common terms of reference.

7. SSTC committee review process

Our TC has been reviewed this year. The review consists of completing a form and an interview via Skype. The official report is still pending with feedback and recommendations. Initial informal feedback is that there is a need to strengthen industrial engagement.

Sandro suggested an initial step towards addressing this could be to add a section with industry relations in TC report. Unanimously agreed.

8. Discussion of ISCAS 2015 activities – special sessions, tutorials, etc

If anyone has special session and/or tutorial proposals - please send chair and secretary details. These generally need TC endorsement.

Confessions session: SSTC will aim to organise a confessions session (as a special session) for next year (ISCAS 2015) – Tobi Delbruck/Barnabe Linares-Barranco volunteered to propose.

9. 2014 Best paper awards

Awards will be given in the relevant technical session.

Honourary mention:

- "All-Digital ADC/TDC Using Tad Architecture for Highly-Durable Time-Measurement ASIC" authored by Takamoto Watanabe and Hirofumi Isomura
- "A Current-Mode CMOS Integrated Microsystem for Current Spinning Magnetic Hall Sensors" authored by Hadi Heidari, Edoardo Bonizzoni, Umberto Gatti, and Franco Maloberti

Track Best Paper award:

• "Sub-Hz Self-Powered Sensing Based on Mechanical-Buckling Driven Hot-Electron Injection" authored by Nizar Lajnef, Rigoberto Burgueno, Wassim Borchani and Shantanu Chakrabartty

10. AOB

The Chair-Elect congratulated **Tobi Delbruck** and **Andre Van Schaik** on their recent elevations to IEEE Fellow.

Appendix A

Members:

- 1. Piotr Dudek (chair-elect)
- 2. Amine Bermak (secretary-elect)
- 3. Timothy Constandinou (secretary)
- 4. Tobi Delbruck (past chair)
- 5. Philipp Hafliger
- 6. Christoph Posch
- 7. Daniel Leon-Salas
- 8. Shih-Chii Liu
- 9. Barnabe Linares-Barranco
- 10. Francisco Serra-Graells
- 11. Matthew Mon-Kay Law
- 12. Wei Tang
- 13. Viktor Gruev
- 14. Themis Prodromakis
- 15. Chen Shoushan
- 16. Chiara Bartolozzi
- 17. Giacomo Indiveri
- 18. Akos Zarandy
- 19. Sandro Carrara
- 20. Pantelis Georgiou
- 21. Ralph Etienne-Cummings
- 22. Shantanu Chakrabarlty
- 23. Alejandro Linares Barranco
- 24. Andre Van Shaik
- 25. Tara Hamilton

New Members:

- 1. Stephen Carey, University of Manchester (s.carey@manchester.ac.uk)
- 2. Eero Lehtonen, University of Turku (<u>elleht@ufu.fi</u>)
- 3. Mika Laiho, University of Turku (<u>mlaiho@utu.fi</u>)
- 4. Jie Chen, University of Alberta (jcbs@ualberta.ca)