Sensory Systems Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

Annual Meeting Minutes ISCAS 2006

Date: Monday 22nd May 2006 Time: 19:30 – 21:30 Room: 2.7 Hotel:KICC Convention Center

TC Members at the meeting: 26 members including the TC officers.

1. Introduction of members and officers of the SSTC:

Chairman, Andre van Schaik opened the meeting. We welcomed all TC members and visitors. 26 TC members were present including new TC members. The full list of attendees is given in appendix A.

2. Approval of 2006 agenda.

Agenda for TC meeting at ISCAS 2006 were approved.

3. New TC member candidates introduced.

Five new members were added to the TC. They are:

Name	Affiliation	Research Area	Email	
Viktor Gruev	Univ of Pennsylvania	Polarized imagers	vgruev@seas.upenn.edu	
Maysam Ghovanleo	North Carolina, State University	Microimplantable systems	mghovan@ncsu.edu	
Khaled Salama	Rensaleer Polytehnic Institute	Imaging sensors	khaled@ecse.rpi.edu	
Milutin Stanacevic	SUNY, Stonybrook	Serial source separation, power circuits	milutin@ece.sunysb.edu	
Timothy Constandinou	Imperial College London	Imaging	t.constandinou@ic.ac.uk	

4. Voting on new bylaws

Andre van Schaik suggested that the role of the Past Chair be modified because the roles of the Past Chair and the Chair are worded in a similar way in the present bylaws. B. Shi clarified that the SSTC bylaws were based on the Neural Systems TC bylaws and the reason for the similar roles of the Past Chair and the Chair is so that the Past Chair can advise the new Chair. Suggestion by members is that the Past Chair takes an advisory role and make liaisons with other interest groups like the Sensors TC. Orly Yadid-Pecht and Mona Zaghoul (the president-elect of the Sensors Council) suggest that the Past Chair could try to be a member of the Sensors Council. The Sensors Council membership will be a great way to introduce cooperation with the Sensors TC which runs a conference all about Sensors instead of the present separation between SSTC and the Sensors TC. Example to encourage cooperation: Orly/Denise (SSTC) and Mona (SENSORS) did a special issue in IEEE CAS about Sensors. Ralph will look into possibility of doing the same for the Sensors Journal.

Andre van Schaik suggested that the role of the officers be clarified more clearly in the bylaws since the addition of the Secretary-Elect position in the bylaws now means that the only nominated position is that of the Secretary-Elect.

The bylaws will be modified and circulated for a vote.

5. Annual report of 2006

Members should submit their accomplishments when the chairman sends a request for input for the annual report. Out of 54 Active members, only 11 members replied. The information is important to show the active participation of members in this TC.

6. Report from TC Committee Meeting

The Sensors Track received 67 submissions at ISCAS 2006 with 3 reviewers per paper. There was a 60% acceptance rate with 25 oral papers and 15 poster papers. There were 2 special session tracks: The Demonstration Track and the Integrated Neural Interface Track.

Tutorials proposed for ISCAS 2007 include one on time-domain imagers to be organized by Eugenio Culurciello; one on circuit interfaces with cells and silicon to be organized by R. Harrison. Other tutorial proposals are solicited. Mona Zaghoul will be the tutorials chairman for ISCAS 2007.

IEEE CAS needs submissions for the Spring Issue and the CAS Newsletter needs blurbs from the TCs so send your suggestions to the chairman. There is also a possibility of doing an IEEE Press book which is a collection of the best papers in the field for each TC. Ralph recommended checking out EDA TC. The web site took 4 months to put together. Second suggestion is that IEEE can support online multimedia tutorials from the TC. Orly Yadid-Pecht was suggested as a possible candidate for the imaging tutorial.

Another suggestion is that IEEE puts together a multi-conference in the second half of the year to consist of different TC organized workshops; single track to run sequentially. The chairman brought up the recipe by ICASSP where the TCs organized their own workshop which consists

of one lecture and the rest consists of posters. One possibility is that we organize this workshop in the same location as the BioCAS meeting. Tor Lande who is also involved in the organization of BioCAS informed the attendees of a new journal called EMBS which will be a good place to report neuromorphic work. Future BOG candidates will have to submit their petition electronically. They will have collect signatures amounting to 2% of the membership which is about 204 signatures. They cannot use the TC's emailing list to promote their candidateship.

Candidates are solicited for the Distinguished Lecturer Program. Officers are not allowed to be nominated but IEEE is reviewing this policy. Tor Sverre Lande is suggested as a possible candidate.

9. Discussion of 2007 activities..

Andreas Andreou and Bassen Lande will look into organizing a BioSensor tutorial next year at ISCAS 2007 which will bring in speakers from other areas like Chemistry, and Material Sciences.

Tobi Delbruck and Philipp Haefliger will continue the work for the Special Sessions Demonstration Track for ISCAS 2007.

10. Best Paper Award for the SSTC track for ISCAS 2006.

Because of the difficulty of database retrieval of the papers submitted to the Sensory Track after the sessions were decided, the chairman was unable to retrieve the original scores of the paper and was unable to distribute the best 10 papers for review by the committee. This process will be continued after ISCAS has ended.

11. AOB.

Pamela Abshire suggested that a guideline for reviewers be drawn up so that papers are not rejected arbitrarily because of individual reviewer standards for acceptance. Ralph Etienne-Cummings nominated Pamela to draw up such a guideline.

12. Adjourn

Appendix A

Members present:

Bertram Shi

John Harris

Alan Stocker

Philipp Haefliger

Ralph Etienne-Cummings

Milutin Stanacevic

Shantanu Chakrabartty

Maysam Ghovanleo

Khaled Salama

Paul Hasler

Marc Cohen

Pamela Abshire

Eugenio Culurciello

Piotr Dudek

Viktor Gruev

Roman Genov

Wai-Chi Fan

Amine Bermak

Tor Sverre Lande

Timothy Constandinou

Tobi Delbrueck

Andrew Mason

Mona Zaghoul

Orly Yadid-Pecht

Andre van Schaik

Shih-Chii Liu