Sensory Systems Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

2013 Annual Meeting Minutes

ISCAS 2013 Date: Monday 20th May 2013 Time: 17:30 – 18:30 Room 202A, China National Convention Center, Beijing, China

1. Approval of Agenda

The chair, Teresa Serrano-Gotarredona welcomed the participants. The agenda was approved unanimously.

2. Introduction of Members

The meeting participants briefly introduced themselves. 15 people were present at the meeting including 12 TC members and 3 prospective members. The attending people are listed in Appendix A.

3. New members

Teresa Serrano-Gotarredona proposed **Themis Prodromakis**, University of Southampton, UK. Julio Georgiou nominated **Sandro Carrara**, EPFL, Switzerland. Shoushum Chen proposed **Wei Tang**, New Mexico State University.

The proposed members were briefly introduced, and were accepted unanimously as new members of the committee.

4. Annual report of 2012-2013

The annual report currently has contributions from 31 members. Members present who did not send info and can send report until end of May. Dummy template to fill in has already been distributed; please use the same styles.

5. SSTC activities.

5.1. Demonstration Track

The demonstration track has been running now as an independent track for the past 5 years and is firmly established

5.2. Confession Session

Last year's attempt by Viktor Gruev and Tobi Delbruck at arranging a second "confession session" was a failure. Despite strong support from Wouter Serdjin and Tor Sverre (Bassen) Lande and repeated solicitations to all TC's (including repeated several times by Viktor Gruev to the Analog Signal Processing TC which has >200 paper submissions) resulted in only 7 confessions, 5 of which came from SSTC members who previously contributed. Therefore it was decided to hold off these confessions until 2014 (Melbourne) when the idea will again be tried.

5.3. DLP program nominations:

This past year SSTC had 1 Distinguished Lecturer Program nomination (Amine Bermak) who was accepted and who will serve for the next two years.

DLPs are CAS representatives for the IEEE. Candidates should have a good curriculum and good communication skills. Nominations are welcomed. Send nominations to Teresa Serrano.

6. Election of New Secretary Elect

The chair reminded the committee about the officers rotation procedure, as all officers are moving one step "up", there is vacancy for the Secretary-Elect. She invited volunteers and nominations. The secretary announced that Piotr Dudek (in advance of meeting) nominated Amine Bermak. He accepted the nomination. There were no further volenteers/nominations. He (Amine Bermak) stepped out the room to allow further discussion and a vote, which was unanimous in favour. Therefore, Amine Bermak was duly appointed the new Secretary-Elect of the SSTC.

Officers for the May 2011 - May 2013 period were: Past Chair- Bernabé Linares-Barranco Chair – Tobi Delbruck Chair Elect – Teresa Serano-Gotaredona (becomes active chair at 2013 meeting) Secretary – Piotr Dudek Secretary Elect – Tim Constandinou (becomes active secretary at 2013 meeting)

Officers for the May 2013 - May2015 period become: Past Chair- Tobi Delbruck Chair- **Teresa Serrano-Gotarredona** Chair Elect- Piotr Dudek Secretary- **Tim Constandinou** Secretary Elect- Amine Bermak

7. Discussion of ISCAS 2014 activities – special sessions, tutorials, etc

Deadlines for ISCAS 2014 (1-4 June, Melbourne, Australia).

Proposals for submission of Tutorials due:	13 September 2013
Deadline for submission of Special Session Proposals:	13 September 2013
Submission of full four-page papers for Special sessions:	1 November 2013

Submission of full four-page papers for Regular sessions:

The special theme of ISCAS 2014 is nano/bio circuits and systems applied to enhancing living and lifestyles, and, to give effect to the Society's Mission and Vision (ieee-cas.org), particularly in relation to the multidisciplinary grand challenges in healthcare and wellbeing, the environment and climate change (e.g. www.engineeringchallenges.org).

8. 2013 Best paper awards

45 papers were submitted (approximately 30% less than previous year)¹ and 45% were accepted (same acceptance rate than previous year), forming 3 lecture (15 papers) and 1 poster (5 papers) tracks. 19 volunteer RCMs handled reviews and at least 3 reviews were arranged for each paper. Many thanks to RCMs and reviewers!

The top 9 ranked papers in review (e.g. those with all or almost all "Accept" or "Marginal accept" reviews) were passed out to 6 volunteer rankers from SSTC so that each ranker ranked the 9 papers only excluding self-ranking assignments

After this procedure, one paper clearly stood out (3 best rank and 1 2^{nd} best ranking) and was selected as the best paper of 2013. The second top ranked paper (receiving 1 best rank and 2 2^{nd} best rank) was awarded with an honourable mention.

Best paper went to:

• "Scavenging Thermal-Noise Energy for Implementing Long-Term Self-Powered CMOS Timers" authored by Liang Zhou, Pikul Sarkar, Shantanu Chakrabartty.

Honourable mention went to:

• "A CMOS on-Chip Temperature Sensor with -0.21C/ 0.17C Inaccuracy from - 20C to 100C", authored by Chen Zhao, Yen-Ting Wang, David Genzer, Degang Chen, Randall Geiger.

The awarded papers will be reported in the final annual report.

9. AOB

Sandro Carrara proposed approaching IEEE Sensors Journal to arrange a Special Issue of the journal each year aligned with ISCAS to invite best papers from Sensory Systems Track (similar to BioCAS TC producing a special issue of TBioCAS). He is currently an associate editor with the Journal and said he would investigate the feasibility and any possible constrains/concerns from the Sensors Council.

Meeting ended at 18:05

Appendix A

Members:

- 1. Amine Bermak (secretary-elect)
- 2. Shantanu Chakrabarlty
- 3. Shoushun Chen
- 4. Timothy Constandinou (secretary)
- 5. Julius Georgiou
- 6. Pantelis Georgiou
- 7. Jeremy Holleman
- 8. Man-Kay Law
- 9. Juan Antonio Lenero-Bardallo
- 10. Teresa Serrano-Gotarredona (chair)
- 11. Milutin Stanacevic
- 12. George Yuan

New Members:

- 1. Sandro Carrara
- 2. Themis Prodromakis
- 3. Wei Tang