Sensory Systems Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

2012 Annual Meeting Minutes

ISCAS 2012 Date: Monday 21th May 2012 Time: 17:30 – 18:30 COEX Convention Center, Seoul

1. Approval of Agenda

The chair, Tobi Delbruck welcomed the participants. The agenda was approved unanimously.

2. Introduction of Members

The meeting participants briefly introduced themselves. 31 people were present at the meeting including 17 TC members and 11 prospective members, and 3 non-members who joined the meeting. The attending people are listed in Appendix A.

3. New members

Amine Bermak proposed **Man Kay (Matthew) Law**, Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology. Tim Constandinou proposed **Pantelis Georgiou**, Imperial College London. Tobi Delbruck proposed **Tae-Chan Kim, Junhaeng Lee** and **Hyunsurk (Eric) Ryu**, all from Samsung. Akos Zarandy proposed **Peter Foldesy** of MTA SZTAKI, Budapest. Piotr Dudek proposed **Alejandro Linares Barranco**, Univ. of Sevilla, who then proposed **Juan Antonio Lenero-Barrdallo**, Univ. of Oslo. Further two nominations were received before the meeting: Gert Cawenberghs proposed **Christoph Maier** of UC San Diego and Jennifer Olsen Hasler proposed **Jeremy Holleman** of UTK.

The proposed members were briefly introduced, and were accepted unanimously as new members of the committee.

4. Annual report of 2011-2012

The annual report is still under construction. Members who did not send info on their activities (a request and a template has been sent earlier by Piotr) can send it until end of May, to be included in the final version of the report.

5. SSTC activities.

5.1 Demonstration Track

The demonstration track has been running now as an independent track for the past 3 years and is firmly established. Tobi Delbruck was again a co-organizer but the main work was done this year by the Korean co-organizers, Jongsun Park and Kyongrok Cho.

This year of 16 demos, about half still originated from SSTC members.

5.2 Confession Session

This year's attempt by Viktor Gruev and Tobi Delbruck at arranging a second "confession session" was a failure. Despite strong support from Wouter Serdjin and Bassen Lande and repeated solicitations to all TC's (including repeated several times by Viktor Gruev to the Analog Signal Processing TC which has >200 paper submissions) resulted in only 7 confessions, 5 of which came from SSTC members who previously contributed. Therefore it was decided to hold these confessions until 2013 (Beijing) or 2014 (Melbourne) when the idea will again be tried.

5.3 DLP program nominations

This past year SSTC had co-endorsed one nominee, who was not accepted. Next round of nominations were discussed. Tara Hamilton suggested Andre van Schaik (not clear whether he was a DLP before). George Yu proposed Amine Bermak. Further nominations should be sent to Tobi Delbruck.

6. Plagiarism Committee

The chair passed a message from Vojin Oklobdzija (Vice President of Technical Activities), asking the SSTC was asked to contribute 2 members to the CAS Society Plagiarism Committee. They would like "to have experts form each Technical Activity, preferably ones with the long term memory and the ones that have been members of CAS and active readers for number of years". Amine Bermak and Shoushun Chen volunteered to do this, and there were no objections to them being elected for this role from the SSTC.

7. Various messages

Special Issue of JETCAS was introduced by Yen-Kuang Chen; deadline for contributions is 1st August. Philip reminded that BioCAS 2013 conference deadline is on 30th June. Deadlines for ISCAS 2013 Special Session proposals and Tutorials proposals are on 10th September 2012. Members were invited to consider submissions.

8. Best paper awards for the Sensory Systems track ISCAS 2012

59 papers were submitted to the Sensory Systems Track (about the same as previous several years) and 45% were accepted, forming 4 lecture (20 papers) and 2 poster (12 papers) tracks. 17 volunteer RCMs handled reviews and at least 3 reviews were arranged for each paper. The chair thanked all RCMs and reviewers.

The top 10 ranked papers in review (e.g. those with all or almost all "Accept" or "Marginal accept" reviews) were passed out to 15 volunteer rankers from SSTC (not including any standing officers) so that each ranker ranked 6 papers relative to the other 5 in their set. Self-ranking assignments were excluded. Each paper was ranked by at least 7 people. After this procedure, one paper clearly stood out (4 best rank and 3 2nd best ranking) and was selected as the best paper of 2012. Another 4 papers of the 10 were

ranked almost equally (each receiving at least 3 1^{st} or 2^{nd} place rankings) and were selected as honourable mentions.

Best Paper went to:

• Hongbo Zhu and Tadashi Shibata, for the manuscript "A Real-Time Motion-Feature-Extraction Image Processor Employing Digital-Pixel-Sensor-Based Parallel Architecture"

Honourable Mentions went to:

- Xiaoyi Mu,Nathan Ward,Lin Li,Wen Li, Andrew Mason, Elizabeth Covington, Gustavo Serrano, Cagliyan Kurdak, and Edward Zellers, for the manuscript "CMOS Monolithic Chemiresistor Array with Microfluidic Channel for Micro Gas Chromatograph"
- Milos Davidovic, Michael Hofbauer, and Horst Zimmermann, for the manuscript "A $33 \times 25 \ \mu m^2 Low$ -Power Range Finder"
- Cheng-Han Li, Tobi Delbruck, and Shih-Chii Liu, for the manuscript "Real-Time Speaker Identification Using the AEREAR2 Event-Based Silicon Cochlea"
- Pikul Sarkar, Chenling Huang, and Shantanu Chakrabartty, for the manuscript "A Self-Powered Static-Strain Sensor Based on Differential Linear Piezo-Floating-Gate Injectors"

The winners were applauded and those who were present received their certificates.

9. AOB

There was no other business and the meeting concluded at 6:20pm.

Appendix A

Members:

- 1. Amine Bermak
- 2. Shantanu Chakrabartty
- 3. Shoushun Chen
- 4. Timothy Constandinou (secretary-elect)
- 5. Tobi Delbruck (chair)
- 6. Piotr Dudek (secretary)
- 7. Alexander Fish
- 8. Julius Georgiou
- 9. Philipp Hafliger
- 10. Tara Hamilton
- 11. John Harris
- 12. Tor (Bassen) Lande
- 13. Walter Leon-Salas
- 14. Christoph Posch
- 15. Peter Wu
- 16. Jie (George)Yuan
- 17. Akos Zarandy

New Members:

- 1. Ricardo Carmona-Galán
- 2. Peter Foldesy
- 3. Pantelis Georgiou
- 4. Jeremy Hollemann
- 5. Tae-Chan Kim
- 6. Man Kay Law
- 7. Junheang Lee
- 8. Juan Leñero-Bardallo
- 9. Alejandro Linares-Barranco
- 10. Christoph Maier
- 11. Hyunsurk Ryu

Non Members present:

- 1. Yen-Kuang Chen
- 2. Joon Hyuk (Evan) Park
- 3. Chih-Ting Lin