# **Sensory Systems**

# Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society

# **2009 Annual Meeting Minutes**

ISCAS 2009
Date: Monday 25th May 2009
Time: 17:00 – 18:00
Room: 203B
Taipei Intl. Convention Center

SSTC website: <a href="http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/icss/committees/sensors/sensors-tc.php">http://www.ewh.ieee.org/soc/icss/committees/sensors/sensors-tc.php</a>

#### 1. Approval of Agenda

The chair, Shih-Chii Liu, welcomed participants at the meeting. The agenda was moved by Tobi Delbruck for approval and seconded by John Harris. The agenda was approved unanimously.

#### 2. Introduction of members and officers of SSTC:

The chairman, Shih-Chii Liu, opened the meeting. She welcomed all TC members and visitors.

27 people were present at the meeting including 19 TC members and 7 prospective members (of a total of 43 members, representing an attendance rate of about 50%). Zhiping Lin from NTU joined on the invitation of Tobi Delbruck to have a look at the SSTC but declined invite to join this year. Zhiping Lin was invited to attend because he was nominated for an award, but could not become a member this year because he is student. The attending members, new members, and non members are listed in Appendix A.

#### 3. New members

Piotr Dudek invited Jonne Poikonen, Victor Gruev invited Walter Leon-Salas, Eugenio Culurciello invited Chen Shoushun, Amine Bermak invited Jie Yuan, and the chair invited Tara J. Hamilton and Mohamad Sawan. All new members were voted in unanimously.

# 4. Annual report of 2008

Approved pending last minute activity report submissions. Needs to be submitted by June 15<sup>th</sup>.

#### 5. Best paper award for the Sensory Systems track ISCAS 2009

Winner

CMOS Image Compression Sensor with Algorithmically-Multiplying ADCs Alireza Nilchi, Joseph Aziz, Roman Genov {falireza, joseph, romang}@eecg.toronto.edu

**Honorary Mention** 

True Correlated Double Sampling and Comparator Design for Time-Based Image Sensors

Daniel Matolin, Christoph Posch, Rainer Wohlgenannt {christoph.posch,daniel.matolin,rainer.wohlgenannt}@arcs.ac.at

The winner Alireza Nilchi and runner up Christoph Posch representatives were applauded and had their photos taken with the outgoing chair S.C. Liu.

#### 6. Discussion on Demonstration Track Activities

Demo track, 27 submissions, 20 accepts, only 7 had papers, others prepublished. 2 no shows first session of demos.

Regular track now organized in 2010 by Philipp Hafliger and Tobi Delbruck.

This year the demo track was allocated in a place with very little visibility for the overall public. Somebody should contact the 2010 Iscas organizers to avoid this.

#### 7. ISCAS 2008/09 SSTC activities.

Euge suggested ISSCC to have demos. Ralph said they have that, but these are only author interviews.

Roman and Euge will propose special session amperometric and potentiometic sensors. Tor Lande highlighted that apparently next year there will be a strong emphasis on special sessions.

Tobi suggests JED Hurwitz's idea from ISSCC on "analog mistakes". Tor Lande remarked last done in 1994 by Barry Gilbert at ISCAS. Orly suggested that we could collect lots of errors and classify them.

SC passed on idea from all-TC meeting on contests. Intl Symp on Physical Design. Clock network design. Some ideas were discused, like mounting PCBs, design a specific project, layout race, etc.

Prizes? Joos will propose to CAS organizers that such prize could happen.

Sawan, who will be co-chairing the Tutorials Program, encouraged people to submit proposals.

# 8. Report from Technical Activities committee meeting (Expert Now, DLP, TC membership, multi-conference meeting, BOG, web site material)

Attendace has decreased around 30% due to economy slowdown, as in most IEEE conferences

Iscas has 19 tracks, 3 of which have been identified as showing decreasing interest/activity over the past years: Blind Signal Separation, Cellular Neural Networks, and Neural Systems. Blind Signal Processing Track will be merged with the Digital Signal Processing Track. And the other two will be merged into a single one. A new track is started on Education in Circuits and Systems.

Education in Circuits and Systems new TC first meeting tomorrow.

From 2010 on the Iscas Program will impose a 45% acceptance rate per Track.

9 Oct. deadline for special session proposals for upcoming 2010 ISCAS.

BOG candidates solicited for this upcoming year. Talk to Wouter Serdijn if you are interested in becoming BOG member.

DLP candidates solicited from 1 Aug to 15 Sept. DLPs get up to \$2k intl and \$1.5k national travel subsidy. Slides of presentations must be submitted along with DLP applications (this is new).

The committee was asked whether they favored blind reviewing. At least 15 favored the system as stands. No one raised to favor blind reviewing.

# 9. Various Messages

SC forwarded a message from Bertram Shi to announce the forthcoming CNNA conference. Ralph asked if CNNA is still going on. Piotr pointed out that CNNA has always been a small workshop.

Tobi mentioned about mailing list service from IEEE, and to change the web page to wiki.

#### 10. Election of New Officers

Piotr Dudek, Alex Fish, Timothy Constandinou were nominated by Tobi Delbruck, Orly Yaid Pecht and Ralph Ettiene Cummings.

Piotr was elected as new Secretary Elect by wide margin.

Tobi was nominated as Chair Elect.

Shih-Chii passed over chair to Bernabé Linares-Barranco.

AOB.

No other business.

### **Appendix A**

#### 25 Members present:

#### **Members:**

- 1. John Harris
- 2. Philipp Haefliger
- 3. Ralph Etienne-Cummings
- 4. Eugenio Culurciello
- 5. Piotr Dudek
- 6. Viktor Gruev
- 7. Tor Sverre Lande
- 8. Tobi Delbruck
- 9. Andrew Mason
- 10. Orly Yadid-Pecht
- 11. Shih-Chii Liu
- 12. Bernabe Linares-Barranco
- 13. Giacomo Indiveri
- 14. Alexander Fish
- 15. Christoph Posch
- 16. Amine Bermak
- 17. Shantanu Chakrabartty
- 18. Timothy Constandinou
- 19. Roman Genov

#### **New Members:**

- 1. Tara J. Hamilton
- 2. Mohamad Sawan
- 3. Jie (George) Yuan
- 4. Chen Shoushun 5. Walter D. Leon-Salas
- 6. Jonne Powonen

#### **Non Members present:**

- Zhiping Lin
   Alireza Nilchi