Minutes of 2008 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting at ISCAS 2008

.....

Time/Date: 1:00-2:00, Monday, May 19, 2008. Place: Sheraton Hotel, Seattle, WA, USA.

Chairman: Dr. Chua-Chin Wang

Secretary: Prof. Morris (Ming-Dou) Ker and Prof. Wei Wang

1. TC Chair, Chua-Chin Wang, welcomed the attendants of Nano-Giga TC and started the meeting agenda.

2. Members Self-introduction (15 members, totally).

Prof. Chua-Chin Wang also reported that the website of TC has been built. It can be found in:

http://www.ieee-cas.org/ => Technical Committees => Nano-Giga Web Site

- 3. Approval of the 2008 Nano-Giga TC meeting agenda.
- 4. Approval of the past meeting minutes.
- 5. New Members nomination and approval (5 new TC members).

Approved new TC members are:

Lan-Da Van, National Chiao-Tung University

Chin-Wei Liu, National Chiao-Tung University

Mleden Bereuovic, Technical University of Braunschweig

Herming Chiueh, National Chiao-Tung University

Ching-Te Chiu, National Tsing Hua University

New TC Secretary election for 2008-2009.

Prof. Wai-Chi Fang nominated Prof. Wei Wang to be the TC Secretary for 2008-2009.

Prof. Paul Ampadu seconded the motion. **Prof. Wei Wang has been approved to new TC secretary for the next term, 2008-2009.**

- 7. Discussion on the active and inactive lists of the TC members.
 - Prof. Chua-Chin Wang asked for TC member's inputs on the criteria to determine
 the "active" or "inactive" members according to the Report of Meeting Technical
 Activities IEEE CAS, which asked every TC to discuss its rules for active
 membership and update its membership list and make a clear distinction on its
 webpage between the list of active members and the mailing list of people with
 interest in its activities.

- Prof. Orly Yadid-Pecht and Prof. M. Chrzanowska-Jeske suggested to email all TC members to vote on the regulations and then prepare the list.
- Prof. Wei Wang suggested to include the statistics of the TC member activities to help the TC to determine the regulations.
- Prof. Wai-Chi Fang suggested to keep a TC founding member list to honor the senior TC members.

Action – TC Chair will send a reminder email to every TC member to announce regulations and seek approval from TC members.

8. Discussion on the annual report from TC members.

Prof. Chua-Chin Wang reported that the hard deadline to submit the TC annual report is June 15.

Action – TC Chair will keep updating the TC annual report before May 31 as long as there is any new report from individual TC member.

 Discussion on the TC-oriented special sessions and workshops.
 New TC members are encouraged to submit special session proposals for TC in ISCAS 2009

Action – New TC members @2008 will participate in the preparation of special session proposals for our TC. Please go to ISCAS 2009 website to learn the details and contact TC Chair to get the endorsement before the submission deadline.

- 10. Discussion on BoG and DLP speakers.
 - Prof. Chua-Chin Wang reported that every TC can make proposals for new DLP's to Tuna Tarim, with special preference for non-theoretical proposals. However, the selection process of DLPs will be earlier this year. Please go the CAS website to learn the details.
 - Prof. Ming-Dou (Morris) Ker expressed the interests to pursue BoG.

Action – TC approves the endorsement of Prof. Ming-Dou (Morris) Ker to be the candidate of BoG for the next term.

End of Meeting.		
(continued in the next page)	 	

Members who attended Nano-Giga TC @ ISCAS 2008

Name	Affiliation / University	e-mail address
Winston (Wai-Chi)	NASA's Jet Propulsion	wai-chi.fang@jpl.nasa.gov
Fang	Laboratory, USA	
Morris (Ming-Dou) Ker	National Chiao-Tung	mdker@mail.nctu.edu.tw
	University, Taiwan	
Chua-Chin Wang	National Sun Yat-Sen	ccwang@mail.ee.nsysu.ed
	University, Taiwan	u.tw
Paul Ampadu	Univ. of Rochester	ampadu@ece.rochester.ed
		u
Wei Wang	University a Albany (SUNY),	wwang@uamail.albany.edu
	USA	
Malgorzata	Portland State University, USA	jeske@ee.pdx.edu
Chrzanowska-Jeske		
Danella Zhao	University of Louisiana at	dzhao@cacs.louisiana.edu
	Lafayette, USA	
Mohab Anis	University of Waterloo, Canada	manis@vlsi.uwaterloo.ca
Yehia Massond	Rice University, USA	massond@rice.edu
Orly Yadid-Peckt	Ben-Gurio University, Israel	oyp@ee.bgu.ac.il
Herming Chiueh (New	National Chiao-Tung	chiueh@ieee.org
Member @ 2008)	University, Taiwan	
Lan-Da Van (New	National Chiao-Tung	Idvan@cs.nctu.edu.tw
Member @ 2008)	University, Taiwan	
Ching-Te Chiu (New	National Tsing Hua University	ctchiu@cs.nthu.edu.tw
Member @ 2008)		
Chin-Wei Liu (New	National Chiao-Tung	cwliu@twins.ee.nctu.edu.t
Member @ 2008)	University, Taiwan	w
Mleden Bereuovic	Technical University of	bereuovic@id.ing.tv-bs.de
(New Member @ 2008)	Braunschweig, Germany	
Jie Chen	University of Alberta, Canada	jc65@ualberta.ca
(Guest @ ISCAS 2008)		