Minutes of 2015 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting at ISCAS 2015

Time/Date: 12:50 to 14:10, Tuesday, May 26, 2015.

Place: Room 15 - C. Paredes at Cultural Centre of Belém (CCB), Lisbon, Portugal

Acting Chair: Prof. Sorin Cotofana

1. Acting Chair, Prof. Sorin Cotofana, welcomed the attendees of Nano-Giga TC and started the meeting agenda.

- 2. Make NG-TC activities report.
 - (1) ISCAS 2015 review process in numbers
 - The papers were organized in 120 lecture and 45 poster sessions(51% acceptance rate)
 - 23 special sessions were organized (2 NG-TC)
 - (2) ISCAS 2015 NG-TC,
 - 17 papers accepted: 3 Lectures (15) + 1 Poster (2) sessions
 - 2 Special Session: *Device-Circuit-System Integration Using Emerging Memory Part I & II* (organized by Profs. Meng-Fan Chang and Shimeng Yu)

ISCAS Submission	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012	2013	2014	2015
Regular Papers	31	50	77	37	38	27	25	35
Special Session Papers	0	10	10	0	0	0	4	9

- (3) Updates on the Member List
 - NG-TC members 37 (+4 new members)
 - Active NG-TC members are expected to
 - ➤ Attend the TC meeting held every three year at ISCAS
 - > Serve as a RCM every two years
 - > Submit annual report
 - ➤ Participate in TC related activities (RCM, Session Chairs, review, organization of conferences/workshops supported by the TC, serving on editorial boards of the Transactions and Journals ...)
 - Activity is the key issue (No active members no TC!)
- 3. New Members nomination and approval (4 new TC members).

Approved new TC members are:

- (1) Dr. Christos Papavassiliou, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Imperial College London, UK
- (2) Dr. Hai (Helen) Li, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, USA
- (3) Dr. Jing Li, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Wisconsin, USA
- (4) Dr. Elisa Vianello, CEA-LETI (Laboratory of Electronics, Technology and Instrumentation of CEA, Grenoble), France

- 4. New TC Secretary elections and approval
 - Dr. Meng-Fan (Marvin) Chang, Full Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, National Tsing Hua University (NTHU), Taiwan.
- 5. TC website: http://ieee-cas.org/community/technical-committees/nano-giga-tc
 - (1) Revise Scope and Mission of NG-TC to show our distinction.
 - (2) Secretary is responsible to keep the webpage up to date.
 - (3) Put a link to it in your Webpage to increase its visibility.
- 6. CASS plans on TCs
 - (1) New Bylaws and uniform policy are in place
 - (2) TC should play a greater role in CASS, e.g., define CAS-FEST topic candidates.
 - (3) TC will be reviewed on a regular base they are *living statements* thus need periodic confirmation or revision (merge or termination are also possible!)
 - (4) Annual Reports should set out
 - (5) Drop or diminish the AR paper list
- 7. The NG-TC shall execute outstanding activities to cope with its mission and vision as stated in its bylaw. The following items are the actions.
 - (1) ISCAS 2016: more papers/tutorial/special sessions, and participate ISCAS 2016.
 - (2) Recruit more new members from all regions with nano-electronics profile
 - (3) Technically sponsor conferences
 - NANOARCH
 - (4) Increase collaboration w/ other TC
 - The Nano-electronics TC of IEEE Nano Council
 - Approach them to join our TC
 - IEEE NANO Conference
 - > Funding sponsorship to this conference
 - (5) Special Section on IEEE
 - (6) Distinguish Lecturer nominations
 - (7) IEEE Fellow endorsements
 - (8) Summer School
 - (9) ISCAS 2016 will be held in Montreal, Canada, from May 22 to 25, 2016.
- 8. Annual TC member report (May 2014 to April 2015) contributed by 13 members has been submitted on May 28th. Update is still possible.
- 9. 2015 Curated Publication List
 - M.-F. Chang, Chien-Chen Lin, et al, "A 3T1R Nonvolatile TCAM Using MLC ReRAM with Sub-1ns Search Time," *IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference* (ISSCC) *Dig. Tech. Papers*, pp. 318-319, Feb. 2015.
 - I.-T. Wang, Y.-C. Lin, Y.-F. Wang, C.-W. Hsu, and **T.-H. Hou**, "3D synaptic architecture with ultralow sub-10 fJ energy per spike for neuromorphic computation," International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) 2014, pp. 665-668, San Francisco, CA, USA, Dec. 15-17, 2014.
 - D. Schinianakis and T. Stouraitis, "Multifunction Residue Architectures for

- Cryptography," IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I, vol. 61, no. 4, pp. 1156 1169, April 2014.
- C.-C. Wang, W.-J. Lu, K.-W. Juan, Wei Lin, H.-Y. Tseng, and C.-Y. Juan, "Process corner detection by skew inverters for 500 MHz 2xVDD output buffer using 40-nm CMOS technology," Microelectronics Journal, vol. 46, no. 1, pp. 1-11, Jan. 2015.
- C. Chen, M. Enachescu, and **S.D. Cotofana**, "Enabling Vertical Wormhole Switching in 3D NoC-Bus Hybrid Systems", 18th Design, Automation & Test in Europe conference (DATE 2015), Grenoble, France, 9-13 March 2015.
- J. Chen and **S.D. Cotofana**, "Linear Compositional Delay Model for the Timing Analysis of Sub-Powered Combinational Circuits", IEEE Computer Society Annual Symposium on VLSI (ISVLSI 2014), Tampa, USA, 9-11 July 2014.
- Shuenn-Yuh Lee, Jia-Hua Hong, Cheng-Han Hsieh, Ming-Chun Liang, Shih-Yu Chang Chien, and Kuang-Hao Lin, "Low-Power Wireless ECG Acquisition and Classification System for Body Sensor Networks", IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health Informatics. vol. 19, no.1, pp.236-246, Jan. 2015.
- W. C. Liu, T.-C. Wei, Y. S. Huang, C. D. Chan, and **S. J. Jou**, "All-Digital Synchronization for SC/OFDM Mode of IEEE 802.15.3c and IEEE 802.11ad," IEEE Trans. Circuits Syst. I, Vol. 62, No. 2, Feb. 2015, pp. 545-553.
- C. Amat, A. Calomarde, F. Moll, and **A. Rubio**, "Feasibility of the embedded DRAM cells implementation with FinFET devices" IEEE Transactions on Computers, December 2014.
- N. Aymerich and **A. Rubio**, "Reliability and performance tunable architecture: the partially asynchronous R-fold Modular Redundancy", IEEE Transactions on nanotechnology, 13-3, pp. 617-622, May 2014.

End of Meeting.



Group photo at 2014 NG-TC Annual Meeting

Members who attended Nano-Giga TC at ISCAS 2015

No.	Name	Affiliation/ University	e-mail address	
1.	Mladen Berekovic	Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany, Institute of Computer and Network Engineering, Germany	berekovic@ida.ing.tu-bs.de	
2.	Hsie-Chia Chang	Department of Electronics Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	hcchang@mail.nctu.edu.tw	
3.	Meng-Fan (Marvin) Chang	,National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan	mfchang@ee.nthu.edu.tw	
4.	Robert Chen-Hao Chang	National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan	chchang@nchu.edu.tw	
5.	Ching-Te Chiu	Department of Computer Science National Tsing Hua University	ctchiu@cs.nthu.edu.tw	
6.	Herming Chiueh	Department of Communication Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	chiueh@ieee.org	
7.	Sorin Cotofana	Delft University of Technology, NL	S.D. Cotofana@tunelft.nl	
8.	Shyh-Jye (Jerry) Jou	Department of Electronics Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	jerryjou@mail.nctu.edu.tw	
9.	Hai (Helen) Li	University of Pittsburgh, USA	HAL66@pitt.edu	
10.	Jing Li	University of Wisconsin, USA	jli587@wisc.edu	
11.	Christos Papavassiliou	Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Imperial College London, UK	c.papavas@imperial.ac.uk	
12.	Themis Prodromakis	Nano Research Group, Electronics and Computing Dpt., University of Southampton, UK	T.Prodromakis@soton.ac.uk	
13.	Antonio Rubio	Department of Electronic Engineering Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain.	antonio.rubio@upc.edu	
14.	Elisa Vianello	CEA-LETI (Laboratory of Electronics, Technology and Instrumentation of CEA, Grenoble), France	Elisa.VIANELLO@cea.fr	
15.	Shimeng Yu	Arizona State University, USA	shimengy@asu.edu	