## Minutes of 2014 Nano-Giga TC Annual Meeting at ISCAS 2014

## Time/Date: 12:30~14:00, Wednesday, June 4, 2014. Place: Room 215 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Center Acting Chair: Prof. Sorin Cotofana

- 1. Acting Chair, Prof. Sorin Cotofana, welcomed the attendees of Nano-Giga TC and started the meeting agenda.
- 2. Make NG-TC activities report.

(1) ISCAS 2014 review process in numbers

- The papers were organized in 82 lecture and 39 poster sessions(48.7% acceptance rate )
- 17 special sessions were organized
- (2) ISCAS 2014 NG-TC,
- 15 papers accepted: 2 Lectures (10) + 1 Poster (5)
- 1 Special Session: Giga-Scale System Design Using Emerging Nonvolatile Memories
- T3: 3D ICs Challenges & Advantages
- CAS-FEST: Special sessions and keynotes on memristors

ISCAS Submission	2008	2009	2010	2011	2012	2013	2014
Regular Papers	31	50	77	37	38	27	25(?)
Special Session Papers	0	10	10	0	0	0	4

- (3) Updates on the Member List
  - NG-TC members 35
  - Active NG-TC members are expected to
    - > Attend the TC meeting held every three year at ISCAS
    - Serve as a RCM every two years
    - ➢ Submit annual report
    - Participate in TC related activities (RCM, Session Chairs, review, organization of conferences/workshops supported by the TC, serving on editorial boards of the Transactions and Journals ...)
    - Activity is the key issue (No active members no TC!)
- 3. New Members nomination and approval (2 new TC members). Approved new TC members are:
  - (1) Dr. Omid Kavehei, Centre for Neural Engineering (CfNE) The University of Melbourne, Australia
  - (2) Dr. Shimeng Yu, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
- 4. TC website: <u>http://ieee-cas.org/community/technical-committees/nano-giga-tc</u>
  - (1) Revise Scope and Mission of NG-TC to show our distinction.
  - (2) Secretary is responsible to keep the webpage up to date.

- (3) Put a link to it in your Webpage to increase its visibility.
- 5. CASS plans on TCs
  - (1) Revise TC bylaws and define uniform policy
  - (2) TC should play a greater role in CASS, e.g., define CAS-FEST topic candidates.
  - (3) TC will be reviewed on a regular base they are *living statements* thus need periodic confirmation or revision (merge or termination are also possible!)
  - (4) Annual Reports should set out
  - (5) Drop or diminish the AR paper list
- 6. The NG-TC shall execute outstanding activities to cope with its mission and vision as stated in its bylaw. The following items are the actions.
  - (1) ISCAS 2015: more papers/tutorial/special sessions, and participate ISCAS 2015.
    - Invited CAS-FEST 2014 authors to submit papers to ISCAS 2015
  - (2) Recruit more new members from all regions with nano-electronics profile
  - (3) Technically sponsor conferences
    - NANOARCH 2015 http://www.nanoarch.org/14/index.html
  - (4) Increase collaboration w/ other TC
    - The Nano-electronics TC of IEEE Nano Council
      - > Approach them to join our TC
    - IEEE NANO Conference <a href="http://ieeenano2014.org/index.htm">http://ieeenano2014.org/index.htm</a>
      - Funding sponsorship to this conference
  - (5) Special Section on IEEE
  - (6) Distinguish Lecturer nominations
  - (7) IEEE Fellow endorsements
  - (8) Summer School
    - Beyond 4G communication, by Prof. Jerry Jou, 2014
  - (9) ISCAS 2015 will be held in Lisbon, Portugal, from May 24 to 27, 2015.
- 7. Annual TC member report (May 2013 to April 2014) contributed by 16 members has been submitted on May 28<sup>th</sup>. Update is still possible.

End of Meeting.



Group photo at 2014 NG-TC Annual Meeting

No.	Name	Affiliation/ University	e-mail address	
1.	Mladen Berekovic	Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany, Institute of Computer and Network Engineering, Germany	berekovic@ida.ing.tu-bs.de	
2.	Meng-Fan (Marvin) Chang	,National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan	mfchang@ee.nthu.edu.tw	
3.	Robert Chen-Hao Chang	National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan	chchang@nchu.edu.tw	
4.	Herming Chiueh	Department of Communication Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	chiueh@ieee.org	
5.	Sorin Cotofana	Delft University of Technology, NL	S.D. Cotofana@tunelft.nl	
6.	Winston (Wai-Chi) Fang	National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	Dr.wfang@gmail.com	
7.	Tuo-Hung Hou	Department of Electronics Engineering,National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan.	thhou@mail.nctu.edu.tw	
8.	Yuan-Hao Huang	National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan	yhhuang@ee.nthu.edu.tw	
9.	Mohammed Ismail	Khalifa University, UAE	ismail@kustar.ac.ae	
10.	Shyh-Jye (Jerry) Jou	Department of Electronics Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	jerryjou@mail.nctu.edu.tw	
11.	Shuenn-Yuh Lee	Department of Electrical Engineering National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan	ieesyl@mail.ncku.edu.tw	
12.	Chin-Wei Liu	Department of Electronics Engineering National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan	cwliu@twins.ee.nctu.edu.tw	
13.	Themis Prodromakis	Nano Research Group, Electronics and Computing Dpt., University of Southampton, UK	T.Prodromakis@soton.ac.uk	
14.	Mircea Stan	Univ. of Virginia, USA	mircea@virginia.edu	
15.	Thanos Stouraitis	University of Patras, Greece	thanos@upatras.gr	
16.	Lan-Da Van	Department of Computer Science, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan	ldvan@cs.nctu.edu.tw	
17.	Chua-Chin Wang	Department of Electrical Engineering National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan	ccwang@ee.nsysu.edu.tw	
18.	Shimeng Yu	Arizona State University, USA	shimengy@asu.edu	
19.	Danella Zhao	University of Louisiana, USA	dzhao@cacs.louisiana.edu	
20.	Dimitris Schinianakis (visitor)		dsxoiniana@gmail.com	
21.	David Skellern (visitor)	Chief Executive Officer of National ICT Australia Limited (NICTA)	daves@ieee.org	

## Members who attended Nano-Giga TC at ISCAS 2014