Minutes of Meeting for MSA TC in Seoul Korea

Time: 13:10 ~ 14:15 May 22, 2012

Location: Room 317AB, COEX Conference Center, Seoul, Korea

TC Chair: Yen-Kuang Chen
TC Secretary: Chia-Wen Lin

Meeting Minute made by Chris Lee

Attendees: (also see the attached signatures)

Members (32): Yen-Kuang Chen, Chia-Wen Lin, Guo-Giun Chris Lee, Jörn Ostermann, Ching-Yung Lin, Huifang Sun, Ling Guan, Houqiang Li, Jianfei Cai, Chang Wen Chen, Wen Gao, Feng Wu, Wen-Hsiao Peng, Tian-Sheuan Chang, Sheau-Fang Lei, Ce-Kuen Shieh, Shao-Yi Chien, Pao-Choo Chung, Susanto Rahardja, Oscar Au, Yap Peng Tan, Jongwon Kim, Timothy K. Shih, Nam Ling, Liang-Gee Chen, Ming-Ting Sun, Lap-Pui Chau, Anthony Vetro, Philipp Zhang, Wenwu Zhu, Shipeng Li, Mladen Berekovic Guests (8): Qionghai Dai, Guangming Shi, Qi Tian, Yeong-Kang Lai, Yibo Fan, Andy Khong, Xiao-Ping Zhang, Marco Mattavelli

Discussions:

- Yen-Kuang went through the agenda, and the agenda was approved
- Chia-Wen reviewed the minute of the last TC meeting (ICME 2011, Barcelona, Spain)
- Self introduction by TC members
- Yen-Kuang reported on the TC review scheduled at 8:00AM Wednesday and our TC is working very well
 - strong with many fellows
 - cosponsored TMM has a high impact factor
 - conference ICME is running well
 - Yen-Kuang reported on the areas of improvement include forming sub-committees
 - improve TC visibility via award/nomination sub-com.
 - improve membership structure: Ching-Yung and Oscar will discuss more and clarify on the webminar activities and productivities along this line
 - ◆ TC-By-law subcommittee is being formed
 - membership and election subcommittee is also being formed to improve in this area
 - Award and nomination sub-committee
 - ◆ Technical Vision sub-committee
 - On-line community sub-committee
- TC-By-Law sub-committee report by Chia-Wen Lin

- second version of bylaw is available
 - Officers now include Chair, Secretary, and Past Chair
 - ◆ The procedures for secretary should be serving in the TC for the last five year selection should be finalized by July 15 for that year
 - Membership structure change:
 - limited number of voting members like 50 who can vote
 - unlimited number of affiliated members who are less active cannot vote
 - voting member can be active again after one year's break.
- Yen-Kuang mentioned that this structure is borrowed from signal processing society
- There were some questions from Shipeng and Wenwu. They mainly asked questions.
- Pau-Choo mentioned that if TC members are non-active for two years they should be excluded from TC. Ching-Yung said this is already in the by-law but was not executed strictly before. We should start to be stricter on this.
- Ching-Yung reported for the membership and election sub-committee
 - Jianfei asked if new members need to be nominated for an affiliate member first
 - Chang Wen asked if affiliate members can get back to voting members after one year's break. Ching-Yung answered yes.
 - Oscar was asking if there is a special way to retain important persons as voting members. Ching-Yung said other than voting all other things can still be done by affiliate members. Chang Wen mentioned that the current affiliated member's responsibility is good. Liang-Gee suggested to use the name Emeritus members rather than affiliate members. Since the word Honorary member may also be too much, Shipeng mentioned something like a lifetime member. Chang wen suggested to have two categories one for junior and the other for senior. So affiliate members for junior and Emeritus for senior. This will be action item for Oscar in that sub-committee.
 - The tiered membership was moved by Jörn and seconded by Chang Wen.
 With 32 votes for yes and zero for no, the tiered membership is approved
 - Now having passed Tier membership. Yen-Kuang asked if we need to have
 50 voting members.
 - ◆ Chang Wen suggested say 50 to 75 and get to 50 in two years
 - Yen-Kuang said we will have more electronic voting

- Ching-Yung also mentioned on the failed membership mechanism for members who don't help. Anthony also mentioned that this should be considered.
- ◆ Anthony and Ming-Ting mentioned to vote for big direction and not details during the TC meeting now.
- Award and Nomination Sub-Committee report by Ming-Ting
 - Ching-Yung asked if the TC should give TC's own awards to TC members?
- Yen-Kuang reported on the technical vision sub-committee
 - asked for suggestion in webminars
- Yen-Kuang presented on the TMM Steering Committee Representative Report
- Chang Wen reported on the ICME SC Representative Report
 - the SC is doing well
 - next TC meeting will be at ICME
- Nam Ling promote on ICME 2013 in San Jose, USA.
 - July 15 till 19 in San Jose
 - At Fairmont, San Jose for \$179 + tax
 - many major companies there
 - Deadline for paper submission is Sep. 10th
- Election of new members is delayed
- Yen-Kuang reported on the nomination and passed of Chang Wen and Ming-Ting to be plagiarism sub-committee members
- Yen-Kuang asked suggested we should have our own track best paper award:
 - Lap-Pui asked if the number of paper submission is steady enough to have this award.
- Do we also need to have confession sessions: will decide later
- Shao-Yi announced on the news editor:
 - Will try to generate one issue before ICME his year
 - This is a platform to connect all members like to have announcements and updates
 - a place to discuss new hot topics in this area.
 - publish quarterly
- Vojin, VP of ISCAS technical activity came and presented on the vision of his committee

Affiliation Name cwlin@ee.nthu.edu.tw Chia-Wen Lin National Tsing Hua Univ. cleen mail. no knieda tw NCKU GWO-GINN LEE Oslemann @tut.uni-haunover. de Llett Join Ostermann Endai a tringhua . ech. in Tsinghua Univ. China Qionghini Dai chingying @ us, ibm. com IBM Watson Reach Ching-Yung Lin lisur @ merl. com MERL Huifang Sun Lguern@el.ryerson.cq Ryerson Unix Ling Guan gmshi & Xidian. selu. in Xidian. Unir. gbraying 8h: qitian ecs. utsa. edu Univ of Texas, San Antonio Qi Tian liha@ustc.edu.cn Univ. of Sci. of Tech. of China Hougiang Li asifcai@ntu.edu.sq NTU, singapore Jianfei Cai chencua buffalo edu SUNY-Buffalo, USA Chang Wen Chen wgao@pku.edu.cn Peking University Wen Gas fengward microsoft.com MICROSOFT KESEARCH FEVG WN wpeng@cs.nctu.edu.tw tschang@mail.nctu.edu.tw National Chra. Tung Untu. WEN-HSIAD PENG National Chiao Tung Univ. Tian Shevan Chang leisf@mail.ncku.edu.tw National Cheng Kung Univ Sheau-Fang Lei National Cheng Kung Univ. phiehaee, nckn, edu, tu Ce faen Shidh National Chung Hsing Univ. Mai@dragon.nchu.edu.tw Yeong-Kang Eai sychien@cc.ee.ntu.edu.tw National Taiwan University Shao-Yi Chien Fudan University fanyibo@fudan.edu.cn Yibo FAN pochungee. neku. edu. tw National Cheng Kung University PAU-CHOO CHUNG rsusantoleizr.a-star.edu.sg INSTITUTE FOR INFOCOMM RESEARCH SUSANTO RAHARDJA Hong Kong Unin of Sci. of Tech. eeau@ust.hk Oscar An exptan & ntu. rdu. sg Danyang Technological Univ. [an Yap long andykhong Cntu.edu.sg Nanyany Technological Univ Andy Knong

Name Jongwon Kinn Email Affiliation GIST jongwondgist, ac. kr timothykshih egmail.com National Central U., Taiwan Timothy K. Shih nling@scu.edu Santa Clara University Nam Ling lgchen@ee.ntu.edn.tw NTV. Taivan Lang-Gee Chen sun @ ee.washington.edu University of Washington Ming-Ting Sun Nanyang Technological University elpchau @ ntu.edu.sg Lap-Pui CHAU avefreemerl.com Mitsubishi Electric Anthony Vetro pzhang@huawei.com Huawei Technologies Philipp Zhang xzhang Qee. ryerson. Za wwzhu@tsinghua, edu, cn Ryerson Univ. Xiuo-Ping Zhang Tsinghua University Wenwu Zhu Microsoff Research Hsia Spli@miorosoft.com SHIPENG LI EPFL marco. mattavelli@epfl.ch MARCO MATTAUELLI TU Brownshulig mladen bereuwico Mladen Bereicovic