## Meeting of IEEE CAS Society Multimedia Systems and Applications Technical Committee

Date: 25 May 2005 (Wed, during ISCAS 2005) Venue: Room Karaku, Hotel Portopia, Kobe, Japan

Time: 1:20pm - 2:10pm

Chairman: Winston Wai-Chi Fang

Secretary: Oscar Au

Attendance (in order of last name):

Oscar Au, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, eeau@ust.hk

Sankar Basu, National Science Foundation, sabasu@nsf.gov

Jill Boyce, Thomson Inc, jill.boyce@thomson.net

Chang Wen Chen, Florida Inst. of Technology, cchen@fit.edu

Liang-Gee Chen, National Taiwan University, lgchen@ee.ntu.edu.tw

Ken Jen-Shiun Chiang, Tamkang University, chiang@ee.tku.edu.tw

Pau-Choo Julia Chung, National Cheng Kung University, pcchung@ee.ncku.edu.tw

Winston Wai-Chi Fang, Jet Propulsion Lab, wfang@jpl.nasa.gov

Wu-Shiung Feng, Chang Gung University, <a href="mailto:fengws@mail.cgu.edu.tw">fengws@mail.cgu.edu.tw</a>

Ling Guan, Ryerson University, lguan@ee.ryerson.ca

Hsiang-cheh Huang, National Chiao-Tung University, hchuang@mail.nctu.edu.tw

Chung-Chih Hung, National Chiao Tung University, cchung@cm.nctu.edu.tw

Hyoung Joong Kim, Kangwon National University, khi@kangwon.ac.kr

Jui-Lin Lai, National United University, illai@nuu.edu.tw

Yeong-Kang Lai, National Chung Hsing University, yklai@dragon.nchu.edu.tw

Chen-Yi Lee, National Chiao Tung University, <a href="mailto:cylee@cc.nctu.edu.tw">cylee@cc.nctu.edu.tw</a>

Gwo Gun Chris Lee, National Cheng Kung University, clee@mail.ncku.edu.tw

Chia-Wen Lin, National Chung Cheng University, <a href="mailto:cwlin@cs.ccu.edu.tw">cwlin@cs.ccu.edu.tw</a>

Ching-Yung Lin, IBM, chingyung@us.ibm.com

Hongchin Lin, National Chung Hsing University, hclin@dragon.nchu.edu.tw

Peter Jeng-Shyang Pan, National Kaohsiung Univ. of Applied Sci., jspan@cc.kuas.edu.tw

Guoping Qiu, University of Nottingham, qiu@cs.nott.ac.uk

Bing Sheu, National Chiao Tung University, b.sheu@ieee.org

Yan Shi, Kyushu University, shi@ktmail.ktokai-u.ac.jp

Yun Q. Shi, New Jersey Inst. of Technology, yun-qing.shi@njit.edu

Ming Ting Sun, University of Washington, sun@ee.washington.edu

Tsung-Han Tsai, National Central University, han@ee.ncu.edu.tw

Belle Tseng, NEC, belle@ieee.org

Chin-Long Wey, National Central University, <a href="mailto:clwey@ee.ncu.edu.tw">clwey@ee.ncu.edu.tw</a>

Peter Chung-Yu Wu, National Chiao Tung University, cywu@alab.ee.nctu.edu.tw

Anthony Vetro, Mitsubishi Electric Res. Lab., avetro@merl.com

Ping Xue, Nanyang Technology University, epxue@ntu.edu.sg

Jar-Ferr Kevin Yang, National Cheng Kung University, jfyang@ee.ncku.edu.tw

Ce Zhu, Nanyang Technological University, eczhu@ntu.edu.sg

## Rong-Jian John Chen, <u>rjchen@nuu.edu.tw</u> Bin-Da Liu, <u>bdliu@cad.ee.ncku.edu.tw</u>

## Agenda

- 1. Opening of meeting
- 2. Introduction and welcome
- 3. Introduction and approval of New members
- 4. Approval of the meeting agenda
- 5. Approval of past meeting minutes
- 6. report on accomplished technical activities (May 2004 to May 2005)
- 7. Planning of upcoming events and near future activities
- 8. Award recognition and endorsement
- 9. Electron/Announcement of new TC officers
- 10. New business
- 11. Adjournment
- 1. Wai-Chi Fang welcomed everyone and invited everyone to take turns to introduce themselves.
- 2. Wai-Chi Fang moved to approve the agenda. Bing Sheu seconded. All approved. Motion carried.
- 3. Introduction of new members
  - a. Wu-Shing Feng. Nominated by Bing Sheu.
  - b. Chen-Yee Li, Nominated by Liang-Gee Chen.
  - c. Guoping Qiu. Nominated by Yun Shi.
  - d. Hyoung-Joony Kim. Nominated by Yun Shi.
  - e. Belle Tseng. Nominated by Yun Shi.
  - f. Yan Shi. Nominated by Wai-Chi Fang. Each nominee was asked to introduced themselves. All approved to accept these 6 as new members. Other nominations can still be considered by email.
- 4. Past meeting minutes (one for ISCAS 2004, one for ICME 2004): Bing moved to approve both. Chang Wen Chen seconded. All approved. Motion carried.
- 5. Report on technical activities (Item 6.1.1)
  - a. Wai-Chi Fang reported that the TC annual report was sent to members by email. He gave a brief summary. Winston reminded members that around April 2006, next year, members will receive email from Chairman asking for their activities in past year. Members were urged to report.
- 6. Planning of upcoming activities
  - a. Ling Guan reported that the organization of ICME 2006 was proceeding smoothly. Members were urged to support and help.

- b. Winston reported on ISCAS 2006. He would assign Oscar Au, the Chairman of the MSA TC in 2006, to be the Multimedia Track Chair in ISCAS 2006.
- c. Peter Pan reported that he was organizing an international workshop on Intelligent Data Hiding in Australia in 2005. Next year, the conference will be in USA.
- d. Peter Wu reported that CAS would like to identify emerging workshop/conference and to provide financial support. Interested members can contact VP Activity or TC Chair for info.
- 7. In past year, there were three new IEEE fellow in the TC, including Yun Shi, Chang Wen Chen. Those who would like to apply for IEEE fellow and awards are welcome to seek endorsement from TC.
- 8. Prof. Kar-Ferr Yang is being nominated into the CAS BOC. Prof. Peter Wu is running for CAS Chair-Elect. Prof. Wai-Chi Fang is running for CAS VP Technical Activity. Wai-Chi Fang moved to vote by raising hand. Oscar seconded. All approved. Motion carried.
- 9. Reminder TC members inactive for 5 years will be removed. Involvement in paper review is counted as TC activities.
- 10. An election of the new TC secretary was conducted. Such election is done once every 2 years. After today's meeting, Oscar Au would become Chairman-Elect. There was a need of a new TC secretary. Ching-Yung Lin was nominated by Liang-Gee Liang to be secretary. Jar-Ferr Yang was nominated by Winston. There were 15 votes for Prof. Yang and 10 votes for Ching Yun Lin. Jar-Ferr Yang was elected as the next secretary. His term would start immediately.
- 11. Next TC meeting would be held in ICME 2005 in Amsterdam. Winston moved to assign Oscar Au to chair the meeting during ICME. Julia Chung seconded. All approved. Motion carried.
- 12. The TC meeting was adjourned at 2:10pm.

Prepared by

Oscar Au TC Secretary.