# MSA TC meeting at ICME 2013

Date: July 17, 2013, Tuesday

Time: 12:00 pm

Place: Garden Room, The Fairmont San Jose, CA, USA

Chair: Yen-Kuang Chen

Meeting minutes prepared by Chia-Wen Lin

#### Attendees:

Voting Members: Yen-Kuang Chen, Chia-Wen Lin, Jian Zhang, Rongshan Yu, Zhenzhong Chen, Weisi Lin, Ching-Yung Lin, Belle Tseng, Zicheng Liu, Shipeng Li, Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Susanto Rahardja, Jianfei Cai, Ming-Ting Sun, Jin Li, Wenwu Zhu, Shao-Yi Chien, Oscar Au, Chang Wen Chen, Yong Rui

Guests: Ping Xue, Touradj Ebrahimi, Igor Kozintser, Winston Hsu, Tao Mei, Haowei Liu, Yi-Hsuan Yang

#### 1) Members introduced themselves

### 2) Review and approve the minutes of last TC meeting (Yen-Kuang)

The CAS VP-TA asked TC members to provide stronger support to CAS-FET and JETCAS

The TC has a secretary candidate: Zicheng Liu

The 2013 subcommittee arrangements were announced

TC nominee of T-MM EiC candidate: The Award and Nomination subcommittee has decided to nominate Chang Wen as a candidate of the next IEEE T-MM EiC (term:  $2014/1^2016/12$ ) Oscar motioned to conduct a voting to support the nomination.

## 3) Newly elected secretary and TC members (Yen-Kuang)

Zicheng Li will be the TC Secretary (term: 9/1/2013 ~ 8/31/2015)

12 new members get elected: Oscar, Au, Ching-Yung Lin, Feng Wu, Shipeng Li, Wenjun Zeng, Pao-Choo Chung, Zhenzhong Chen, Lexing Xie, Tao Mei, Touradj Ebrahimi, Moncef Gabbouj, Winston Hsu

# 4) TC affiliate discussions

Two discussion items:

Discussion #1: Should retiring TC members automatically become a TC affiliates? (Belle Tseng, Jin Lin supported this suggestion, Ching-Yung motioned to send to confirmation to the retiring members

Decision: Approve to include the retiring TC members become the TC affiliates, but the TC Chair/Secretary need to contact them to confirm.

Dicussion #2: Should the non-elected TC member candidates, but with more than 50% approval vote automatically become a TC affiliates? (Rongshan Yu, Xiaoyan Sun, Ching-Te chiu, Xiao-Ping Zhang, Andy W.H. Khong, Yeong-Kang Lai)

Oscar motioned and Jianfei seconded

Decision: Approved

Election of new TC affiliate members (Four candidates)

Voting result: Rongshan Yu, Haowei Liu and Yi-Hsuan Yang got approved as TC affiliates

## 5) Upcoming elections

TPC Chairs for future ICMEs

ICME steering committee representative after Alex Loui at the end of this year Decision: The nomination election of TC representatives to TPC Chairs of ICME 2014 and 2015 and ICME Steering Committee members will be finished by the end of August

# 6) Promotion of I CME 2014 (Shipeng)

Shipeng

- Conference approved by IEEE
- CfP available
- · Conference venue (Jinjiang Hotel) decided
- Date: July 14~18, 2014

#### 7) AOB

Yen-Kuang expressed his acknowledgement to all TC members to thank their support during his term as TC Chair and Secretary.