## MSA TC meeting at ISCAS 2013

Date: May 21, 2013, Tuesday

Time: 13:10 pm

Place: Room 202B, China National Convention Centre, Beijing, China

Chair: Yen-Kuang Chen

Meeting minutes prepared by Chia-Wen Lin

Attendees: 26 voting members

## 1) VP-TA (David)

Commented on the quality of the conferences (64) sponsored by CAS The TCs should help more on CAS-FEST and JETCAS

# 2) Review and approve the minutes of last TC meeting (Yen-Kuang)

TC review summary

New TC bylaw approved

New member structure: 50 voting members and unlimited number of TC affiliates

## 3) ICME SC Report Out (Chang Wen)

Current ICME SC members: Jian Zhang and Alex Loui (Yong Rui retired)
Call for proposals for ICME 2016 (two proposals from Seattle & San Diego US) and
2017 (two proposals from Taiwan and Hong Kong)

## 4) New Member Election (Yap-Peng)

22 members will finish their term by August 31 2013, and 12 new member will be elected by mid July

# 5) Secretary Candidate Statement (Nominator: Chang Wen; Candidate: Zicheng Liu)

Membership committee: Oscar, Chang Wen, Enrico

Transition committee: above + Ching-Yung, Joern, Ming-Ting, Anthony

Zicheng presented his position statement.

- 1. Set up a mechanism discussion on technical trend
- 2. Encourage awareness, interactions, and collaborations
- 3. Improve the diversity of the membership structure in research areas, geography, gender, etc.

## 6) Subcommittee (Yen-Kuang)

Yen-Kuang announced the following TC subcommittee appointments:

- TC by-law/P&P sub-committee: Zicheng Liu (Chair), Yen-Kuang Chen, Chia-Wen Lin, Samson Cheung, Joern Ostermann, Anthony Vetro, Yap-Peng Tan
- Technical vision sub-committee: Jian Zhang (Chair), Yen-Kuang Chen, Shao-Yi Chien, JongWon Kim, Alex Loui, Jhing-Fa (James) Wang, Yong Rui, Wenjun Zeng
- Membership and election sub-committee: Yap-Peng Tan (Chair), Wenjun Zeng, Enrico Magli
- Award and nomination sub-committee: Anthony Vetro (Chair), Ming-Ting Sun, Ling Guan, Homer Chen, and Pascal Frossard
- On-line community sub-committee: Supavadee Aramvith, Chia-Wen Lin
- TC Newsletters: Shao-Yi Chien

# 7) New member election (Yen-Kuang)

The following three items were discussed

- Shall we automatically invite all 22 retiring members to go for the new member election this year (conclusion: still need to check individual retiring members' willingness)
- Encourage members to nominate more affiliates
- Revision of the bylaw: finalize the new member election by 31 August of the election year

#### 8) TC Vision (Jian)

Proposal: MSATC will lead, create and contribute to the worldwide multimedia standards, algorithms, platforms, and systems.

## 9) MSA TC Award Committee (Anthony)

Yen-Kuang asked why the TC nomination of ISCAS student paper award was not considered by ISCAS. Wenwu explained the award selection process

Yen-Kuang suggested TC to issue a certificate of TC nomination of T-MM best paper award

Check with CAS/ISCAS about if they have any concerns about the TC issues an award about MSA Track best award for ISCAS (Chia-Wen)

Ching-Yung: how about to issue Multimedia Systems and Application Best Paper Awards (without boundary)

#### 10) TMM SC Report Out

CASS is responsible for the selection of TMM EiC  $(2014/1^22016/12)$ 

The Award & Nomination committee will form a TC-level TMM EiC selection committee, and nominate an T-MM EiC candidate to the CASS EiC Selection Committee (nomination deadline: June 30 2013)

Anthony: The TC should express the TC's opinions about the EiC to the CASS EiC selection committee

Yen-Kuang will talk to the VP Publication and CASS President to express the TC's opinions to the EiC selection committee.

## 11) Emeritus members (Yen-Kuang)

Yen-Kuang proposed the following list of eligible emeritus member candidates, but suggested to move only those inactive members to the emeritus member grade.

- Past MSA TC Chairs: Bing Sheu, Chung-Sheng Li, Liang-Gee Chen, Peter (Chung-Yu) Wu, Jar-Ferr Yang, Oscar Au, Ching-Yung Lin
- Past main general chair of ICME: Ching-Yung Lin (2009), Yap-Peng Tan (2010), Jian Zhang (2012)
- Past EiC of TMM: Bing Sheu, Tsuhan Chen, Ming-Ting Sun
- Past President of CASS: Ming Liou, Bing Sheu, Thanos Stouraitis
- Past EiC of CASS sponsored journal: Ming Liou (T-CSVT), Ming-Ting Sun (T-CSVT), Ya-Qin Zhang (T-CSVT), Chang Wen Chen (T-CSVT), Keshab Parhi (T-CAS I), Bing Sheu (T-VLSI)
- Past main general chair of ISCAS: Jhing-Fa Wang (2009), Wen Gao (2013)

# 12) ICME 2013 (Nam Ling)

Nam gave a short report and promotion about ICME 2013

## 13) ICME 2014 (Shipeng)

Shipeng mentioned ICME was going well. The OC was still securing the venue