## MSA TC meeting at ICME 2012

Date: July 10 2012, Tuesday

Time: 12:20 pm

Place: Room 111, Melbourne Exhibition & Convention Centre, Melbourne, Australia

Chair: Yen-Kuang Chen

Meeting minutes prepared by Shao-Yi Chien

Attendees: (21 members + 3 non-members)

Members: Yen-Kuang Chen, Chia-Wen Lin. Shao-Yi Chien, Enrico Magli, Weiyao Lin, Sanjeev Mehrotra, Shipeng Li, Nam Ling, Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Xian-Sheng Hua, Zicheng Liu, Jhing-Fa Wang, Ce Zhu, Oscar Au, Jian Zhang, Chang Wen Chen

Remote participants: Ching-Yung Lin, Weisi Lin, Anthony Vetro, Yap-Ping Tang

Guests: Zen Wen, Xiaohong Peng, Pengfei Wang

## 1) Self-introduction (YK)

## 2) Review and approve the minutes of last TC meeting (Chia-Wen)

Tiered membership structure: including TC members (voting member) + affiliates

Liang-Gee suggested to have emeritus members

Plagiarism sub-committee members: Chang Wen and Ming-Ting

Oscar: Terms for emeritus member?

YK: no.

## 3) Update about TC review (YK)

Suppose to get formal review comments by the end of June. So far, not yet. Comments from Vojin, VP-TA

- Very impressed for the presentation and Q&A
- Has come concerns about the overlap, especially between VSP TC

Key questions:

Technical direction

- Matched with CAS vision
- Overlaps with DSP TC and VSPC TC

### Membership

- Well-qualified TC?
- Balanced distribution in the TC (countries, industry v.s. academic) How can we grow membership in some under-represented regions (e.g. south America)

Relationship with other TC's

Ex. iPhone and multimedia therapy

## 4) By-law sub-committee updates (Chia-Wen)

Bylaw version: May 2012

Officers of TC: chair, secretary, and past chair

New tiered membership structure: limit voting members (50) Emeritus members (past TC chairs, past EiC of TMM, etc.) Affiliates can still go to have lunch

Term of members: 4 years, start from 1 Sept, each year 1/4 members will be elected, at most two consecutive terms

Transition plan (to be discussed)

The new bylaw was sent to the TC on June 22 and 6 positive feedbacks were received.

### 5) Membership and transition (Oscar)

Membership committee: Oscar, Chang Wen, Enrico

Transition committee: above + Ching-Yung, Joern, Ming-Ting, Anthony

- 71 inactive members will be moved to affiliates (miss TC annual reports, rarely attend TC meetings, reluctantly participate in TC review duties)
- 5 will become emeritus members (past TC chairs, TMM EiCs, CAS presidents, ISCAS/ICME main general chairs)
- The rest of the members will have 1 to 4 years of membership term starting Sept 1, 2012

#### Transition plan:

- Retire 13 with 4-year term, 13 with 3-year term, 13 with 2-year term, and 22 with 1-year term

- Depends on different areas
- Elect 12 members in the next few years
- Strongly encourage everyone to seek nomination for re-election next year, and stay involved in the TC activities
- People with 1, 2, and 3-year term, can have two more consecutive terms if they are successfully re-elected.

Shipeng seconded. No comments.

16 + 4 (remote) agreed, 0 disagreed

Still continue to accept new candidate nominations but will not hold the election until July 2013.

# 6) Passdown from ICME steering committees (Chang Wen)

2013 San Jose

2014 Chengdu

2015 Proposed by Tunisia and Italy teams

2016 Peking team

There is an ICME special issue problem in TMM, will discuss this issue in society issue.

## 7) Passdown from TMM steering committees (YK/Ching-Yung)

Budget deficits in 2012

- CS want to change their full sponsorship to technical sponsorship
- Other 3 societies seems to continue support some extra pages (no conclusion from society VP's yet)

Extra measurement in 2013

- AE's are asked to lower acceptance rate
- GE's are asked to reduce page budgets, consolidate the special issues, or move it to other journals (not sure about ICME special issue)

### 8) Support Chang Wen for CAS BoG

### 9) ICME 2015 proposals promotion

### 10) Promotion on ICME 2013