# IEEE CAS Society CASCOM TC Annual Meeting 2019 Agenda and Minutes of the Meeting – Sapporo, Japan

**Date:** May 28, 2019 **Time:** 11.30-12:45

Place: Seminar Room 2 – Sapporo City Industrial Promotion Center – 3F

## **Meeting Agenda**

- 1. Opening of meeting
- 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members in attendance
- 3. Approval of the 2019 CASCOM TC meeting agenda
- 4. Approval of the 2018 CASCOM TC meeting minutes
- 5. Update on ISCAS 2019 and 2020
- 6. Discussion of Annual 2019 CASCOM TC Report
  - a. Increasing member technical activity and service to the TC
- 7. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members
- 8. Planning for CASCOM membership and activities
- 9. Other business BoG Strategic Session discussion
- 10. Adjourn

## Minutes of the 2019 Meeting

The list of attendees is provided in Appendix A. The attendance was 29 members, candidates, and guests.

### 1. Opening of meeting

- TC Chair-Elect Joseph Cavallaro called the meeting to order at approx. 11:30 am

#### 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members

- Each office and member was introduced and a meeting attendance sheet used to record attendance. All current officers were in attendance.

## 3. Approval of the 2019 CASCOM TC meeting agenda.

- The agenda was presented and an overview given. A motion to approve was seconded and approved by the members.

#### 4. Approval of the 2018 CASCOM TC meeting minutes.

- The minutes of the 2018 meeting were read. There was no discussion, a motion to approve was made, seconded, and approved by the members.

#### 5. Update on ISCAS 2019 and 2020

#### ISCAS 2020

- Next year ISCAS 2020 is in Seville, Spain
- Will start the request for Review Committee Members TC members soon
- Encourage special sessions
- Encourage tutorial proposals
- Usually busy October through January on paper selection, sessions, and chairs

#### 6. Discussion of Annual 2019 CASCOM TC Report

The CASCOM track (Track 3) received 69 papers in 12 sub-tracks. Of the 69 papers that were submitted to our track, 38 papers were accepted (55% acceptance rate) with 20 papers in 4 lecture sessions and 18 papers in 4 poster sessions.

Three TC members served as CASCOM track co-chairs: Joseph R. Cavallaro, Hanho Lee and Máire O'Neill.

The CASCOM TC had 77 members. 45 TC members (and some member candidates (about 58%) served as 2019 CASCOM track Review Committee Members. 7 non-TC members also served. 23 members reported on their activities.

### 7. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members

Nominations were received for eight candidates for new membership (Two members could not attend and therefore were not included in the vote). Bios were circulated for the 6 candidates in attendance. Each spoke briefly:

- Prof. Vanessa Chen, Ohio State University, US
- Prof. Junghwan Han, Chungnam National University, Daejeon, Korea
- Prof. Hoyoung Yoo, Chungnam National University, Daejeon, Korea
- Dr Yuan-Hao Huang, National Tsing Hua University Taiwan
- Prof Pei-Yun Tsai, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
- Dr Jiafeng Xie, Villanova University, PA, US
- Amit Jha, Integrated Device Technology USA; Self Unable to attend
- Kangkang Sun, City University of Hong Kong Hong Kong; Self Unable to attend

The new member candidates that attended the TC meeting were introduced and they had an opportunity to present their background. Their CVs had been emailed to members in advance of the TC meeting. The members discussed the qualifications of the candidates and voted. All of the candidates that attended the CASCOM meeting were selected as new members of the TC.

New members who will be added to the CASCOM member webpage listing and the CASCOM email alias. Congratulations to all the new members!

#### 8. Planning for CASCOM membership and activities

- Need to work on activity only 23 reports of 77 members submitted
- Need to coordinate with other TCs some sub-areas overlap
- · Can consider adding emerging topics as sub-areas.

#### 9. Other business

- a. Encouraged nominations for Board of Governors and nominations for DL programmes.
- b. Emerging topics that could be considered going forward include:
  - Massive or Large Scale MIMO
  - Millimeter Wave Communications 28 GHz, 60 GHz
  - Cloud RAN Fog Edge Spectrum Sharing
  - Physical Layer Cybersecurity
  - Energy Harvesting ultra low power
  - 100 Gbps and beyond
  - IoT Smart Cities
  - Al-related topics
- b. Joseph Cavallero attended CAS BoG Strategic Session on Sunday
  - Eduard Alarcon VP Technical Activities invited all TC Chairs to attend
  - CASS Society is developing a Society-wide strategy for the upcoming years
  - CASS Society is working on a position paper to be published at CASS magazine, presenting our collective CASS approach to foster interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary TA organization
  - Our CASCOM TC is encouraged to participate
  - JETCAS encouraged special issue proposals on emerging topics

## 10. Meeting adjourned.

Meeting adjourned at 12:25

TC Chair-Elect Joseph Cavallaro thanked all attendees and closed the meeting.

Date: 07 June 2019

Prepared by TC Secretary: Máire O'Neill

## Apendix A

## List of attendees:

29 attendees, including candidates attending.

### Members:

Joseph Cavallaro <u>cavallar@rice.edu</u> (Chair)
Hanho Lee <u>hhlee@inha.ac.kr</u> (Chair-Elect)
Máire O'Neill <u>m.oneill@ecit.qub.ac.uk</u> (Secretary)
Chuan Zhang <u>chzhang@seu.edu.cn</u> (Secretary-elect)

Name	Affiliation	Email
Joseph Cavallaro	Rice University	Cavallar@rice.edu
Hanho Lee	Inha University	hhlee@inha.ac.kr
Máire O'Neill	Queen's University Belfast	m.oneill@ecit.qub.ac.uk
Chuan Zhang	Southeast University	chzhang@seu.edu.cn
Myoung Houn Sunwoo	Ajou University	sunwoo@ajou.ac.kr
Kyung Ki Kim	Daegu University	kkkim@daegu.ac.kr
Susanto Rahardja	Northwestern Polytechnical U.	susanto@nwpu.edu.cn
YoungJoo Lee	Postech, Korea	Youngjoo.lee@postech.ac.kr
Hoyoung Yoo	Chungnam National Univ, Korea	hyyoo@cnu.ac.kr
Junghwan Han	Chungnam National Univ, Korea	jh.han@cnu.ac.kr
Vanessa Chen	Ohio State University	Chen.7237@osu.edu
Andrea Geosa	University of Padova	andrea.gerosa@unipd.it
Xinmiao Zhang	Ohio State University	Zhang.8952@osu.edu
Jiafeng Xie	Villanova University	jiafeng.xie@villanova.edu
Nam Ling	Santa Clara University	nling@scu.edu
Li Li	Nanjing University	<u>lili@mju.edu.cn</u>
Liang Liu	Lund University	Liang.liu@eit.lth.se
Yuan-Hao Huang	National Tsing-Hua University	yhhuang@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Ming-der Shieh	National Cheung Kung Univ	shiehm@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Pei-Yun Tsai	National Central Univers, Taiwan	pytsai@ee.ncu.edu.tw
Weiqiang Liu	NUAA, China	liuweiqiang@nuaa.edu.cn
Magdy Bayoumi	University of Louisiana at Lafayette	mab0778@louisiana.edu
Hassan Aboushady	Sorbonne Univ	Hassan.aboushady@lipb.fr
An-Yeu Wu	National Taiwan Univ	Andywu@ntu.edu.tw
Lan-da Van	NCTU, Taiwan	ldvan@cs.nctu.edu.tw
Lap-Pui Chau	Nanyang Technological Univ	elpchau@ntu.edu.sg
Jongsun Park	Korea University	jongsun@korea.ac.kr
Shanxi Li	Lanzhou University	lisx@lzu.edu.cn
Bo Yuan	Rutgers University	Bo.yuan@soe.rutgers.edu