IEEE CAS Society CASCOM TC Annual Meeting 2018 Agenda and Minutes of the Meeting - Florence, Italy

Date: May 30, 2018 Time: 13:15-14:15 Place: room VV1.8

Meeting Agenda

- 1. Opening of meeting
- 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members
- 3. Approval of the 2018 CASCOM TC meeting agenda.
- 4. Approval of the 2017 CASCOM TC meeting minutes.
- 5. CASCOM TC Secretary position election results
- 6. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members
- 7. Report of Annual TC Report: accomplished technical activities, etc.
- 8. Update on ISCAS 2018 and 2019
- 9. Planning for CASCOM membership and activities
- 10. Other business
- 11. Meeting adjourned.

Minutes of the 2018 Meeting

The list of attendees is provided in Appendix A. The attendance was 19 members, candidates, and guests.

1. Opening of meeting

- TC Chair-Elect Joseph Cavallaro called the meeting to order at about 13:15 pm

2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members

- Each member was introduced and a meeting attendance sheet using a signup sheet was completed. Information on when members joined the TC was requested. Vice Chair Hanho Lee was present.

3. Approval of the 2018 CASCOM TC meeting agenda.

- The agenda was presented and an overview given. A motion to approve was seconded and approved by the members.

4. Approval of the 2017 CASCOM TC meeting minutes.

- The minutes of the 2017 meeting were read. There was no discussion, a motion to approve was made, seconded, and approved by the members.

5. CASCOM TC Secretary position election results

- Election was held via online ballot through IEEE CASS website.
- Candidate biographies and position statements were posted.
- Voting closed on May 25 Chair Shoba Krishnan announced results:
 - We appoint Dr. Máire O'Neill as the CASCOM TC Secretary for a two year term from 2018-2020.
 - Dr. O'Neill is a long-standing member of the CASCOM TC from 2007 and has actively participated in the committee over the past ten years as RCM and session chair for the annual ISCAS conferences and organizing special sessions in 2007, 2011 and 2014.
 - We also appoint Dr. Chuan Zhang as the Secretary elect to start his term in 2020.
 - Dr. Chuan Zhang joined CASCOM in 2014 and has been active in reviewing papers, recruiting new members and organizing JETCAS special issues.
 - Congratulations to new CASCOM TC secretary and Secretary elect.

6. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members

Nominations were received for eight candidates for new membership:

- Eight Member Candidates Bios were circulated Each will speak briefly now:
- Kheong Sann Chan, Nanjing Institute of Technology, China
- JAE HA KUNG, Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
- Jinbo Li, UC Davis, USA
- Mohamed Shaban, Southern Arkansas University, USA
- SHAN CAO, Shanghai University, China
- Sri Navaneethakrishnan Easwaran, Texas Instruments, USA
- TAO ZHANG, Google, USA
- Youngjoo Lee, POSTECH, Korea

Those new member candidates that attended the TC meeting were then introduced and presented their background. Their CVs had been presented to the members in an email before the TC meeting. The members discussed the qualifications of the candidates and voted. Five candidates were selected as new members of the TC: Kheong Sann Chan, Jae Ha Kung, Shan Cao, Sri Navaneethakrishnan Easwaran, Youngjoo Lee

Congratulations to the new members.

7. Report of Annual TC Report: accomplished technical activities/ yearly report/instructions & template

- The Report was prepared by the secretary based on information collected from the members over the preceding few weeks. The report was approved and will be posted on the CASCOM TC web site.
- Joseph Cavallaro provided statistics about ISCAS 2018.
- The CASCOM track (Track 3) received 105 papers in 12 sub-tracks for the 2018 meeting.

Track List for ISCAS2018

- 3.1 Wireline Communications
- 3.2 Wireless Communications
- 3.3 Optical Communications
- 3.4 Broadband Communication Systems
- 3.5 MIMO & Massive MIMO
- 3.6 Modeling and Analysis of Communications Systems
- 3.7 Software Defined and Cognitive Radio Systems
- 3.8 Error Correcting Codes
- 3.9 Cryptography and CyberSecurity

3.10 Sensor Networks

- 3.11 Applications of Nonlinear Dynamics to Communications
- 3.12 Other Areas in Communications Circuits and Systems
 - Of the 105 papers that were submitted to our track, 57 papers were accepted (54% acceptance rate) with 25 papers in 5 lecture sessions and 32 papers in 4 poster sessions.
 - Three TC members served as CASCOM track co-chairs: Shoba Krishnan, and Joseph R. Cavallaro, Hanho Lee
 - The CASCOM TC has 72 members. 34 TC members (or 47.2%) served as 2018 CASCOM track Reviewer Committee Members:

Hassan Aboushady, Khaldoon Abugharbieh, Wael Badawy, Jaehyouk Choi, Jin-Ku Kang, Rajendra Katti, Kyung Ki Kim, Ut-Va Koc, Alexander Korotov, Yingjie Lao, Chang-Ho Lee, Hanho Lee, Li Li, Jun Lin, Liang Liu, Weiqiang Liu, Gabriele Manganaro, Pui-In Elvis Mak, Maire O'Neill, Vassilis Paliouras, Jongsun Park, Fernando Rangel De Sousa, Vyasa Sai, Wee Ser, Ming-Der Shieh, Gerald E. Sobelman, Christoph Studer, Lan-Da Van, Zhiyuan Yan, Bo Yuan, Chuan Zhang, Tong Zhang, Xinmaio Zhang, Danella Zhao

8. Update on ISCAS 2018 and 2019

- Next year in Japan
- Will start the request for Review Committee Members TC members
- Encourage special sessions
- Encourage tutorial proposals
- Usually busy October through January on paper selection, sessions, and chairs

9. Planning for CASCOM membership and activities

- Need to work on activity only 20 reports of 72 members submitted
- Coordinate with other TCs

10. Other business.

- Two requests from VP TA
- EDICS: EDICS working group: Christoph Studer; Lap-Pui Chau; Xinmiao Zhang reviewed the CAS EDICS and made suggestions for updates, additions, deletions.
- Emergent topics in CASS: improving life and lifestyle: feedback and suggestions

11. Meeting adjourned.

Meeting adjourned at 14:15

TC Chair-Elect Joseph Cavallaro thanked all attendees and closed the meeting.

Date: 10 August 2018

Prepared by outgoing TC Secretary: Hanho Lee

Apendix A

List of attendees:

19 attendees, including candidates attending.

Members:

Shoba Krishnan	<u>skrishnan@scu.edu</u>	(Chair)
Joseph Cavallaro	cavallar@rice.edu	(Chair-Elect)
Hanho Lee	hhlee@inha.ac.kr	(Secreatry)

Name	Affiliation	Email
Lap-Pui Chau	Nanyang Technological U.	elpchau@ntu.edu.sg
Joseph Cavallaro	Rice University	<u>cavallar@rice.edu</u>
Hanho Lee	Inha University	hhlee@inha.ac.kr
Ming-der Shieh	National Cheng-Kung U.	shiehm@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Mih Tan	Huazhang U. Sci. Tech	mtan@hust.edu.cn
Wee Ser	Nanyang Technological U.	ewser@ntu.edu.sg
Kheong Sann Chan	Nanjing Institute of Technology	<u>chanks@njit.edu.cn</u>
Christoph Studer	Cornell	studer@cornell.edu
Tokunbo Ogunfunmia	Santa Clara University	togunfunmi@scu.edu
Weiqiang Liu	Nanjing U. of Aeronautics & Astro	liuweiqiang@nuaa.edu.cn
Shan Cao	Shanghai University	<u>cshan@shu.edu.cn</u>
Wei Xing Zheng	University of Western Sydney	w.zheng@uws.edu.au
Youngjoo Lee	Pohang University of Science and Technology,	youngjoo.lee@postech.ac.kr
Xinmiao Zhang	Ohio State University	zhang.8952@osu.edu
Maire O'Neill	Queen's University Belfast	m.oneill@ecit.qub.ac.uk
Jae Ha Kung	Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology (DGIST)	jhkung@dgist.ac.kr
Chuan Zhang	Southeast University	chzhang@seu.edu.cn
Sri Navaneethakrishnan Easwaran	Texas Instruments	navaneeth.easwaran@gmail.com
Jongsun Park	Korea University	jongsun@korea.ac.kr