Technical Committee – Circuits and Systems for Communications (CASCOM)

TC Meeting Minutes

Date: May 30, 2007

Place: ISCAS 2007, New Orleans, U.S.A

Present:

Members: Nam Ling, Gerald Sobelman, Lap-Pui Chau, Mohamed Elgamel, Chang-Ho Lee, Derong Liu, Tzi-Dar Chiueh, Ashok Kumar, Paul Ampadu, Myung Sunwoo, Wei Xing Zhang. **Non-members (applying to become members):** Andrea Derosa, Danella Zhao, Xinmiao Zhang, Máire McLoone, Zhengguo Li, Xiaoquan (Bill) Yi.

1. New TC members elected:

- a. Maire McLoone, UK Royal Academy of Engineering, UK
- b. Matt Robshaw, France Telecom Research & Development, France
- c. Yichuang Sun, University of Hertfordshire, UK
- d. Zhengguo Li, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
- e. Xiaoquan (Bill) Yi, Google, USA
- f. Xinmao Zhang, Case Western Reserve University, USA
- g. Danella Zhao, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
- h. Andrea Gerosa, University of Padova, Italy

2. TC activities update:

- a. TC web page http://www.ieee-cas.org/ set up by Shaheen (Mohamed Elgamel), our webmaster.
 - http://www.ieee-cas.org/ → Technical Committees → CASCOM
- b. Gerald Sobelman is TC Chair-elect, will become TC Chair at next year's ISCAS.
- c. TC is a technical co-sponsor for the International Symposium on Wireless Pervasive Computing (ISWPC 2008), in Santorini, Greece.
- d. TC is involved in CAS-COM 2008 (Shanghai, China), a subconference of ICC 2008.

3. TC involvement in ISCAS 2007:

- a. Our track (Track 5) received 176 papers, the 4th largest among the 19 tracks and the 17 TCs. The track accepted 85 papers (48%) with 60 lecture papers and 25 poster papers.
- b. TC members Magdy Bayoumi served as General Chair, Nam Ling as Technical Program Co-Chair; Gerald Sobelman, Lap-Pui Chau, and Chang-Ho Lee served as CASCOM track co-chairs; and many TC members served as RCMs, reviewers, and session chairs.
- c. Special session on "Novel Cryptographic Architectures for Low-Cost RFID" from our TC, organized by TC members Matt Robshaw and Maire McLoone.
- d. TC member Gerald E. Sobelman gave tutorial on "Design of Programmable Wireless Networks aka Cognitive Radios".

4. Update on recent activities & other conferences <u>organized/chaired</u> by TC members:

ISCAS 2006 - Magdy Bayoumi as Forum Session Chair.

SiPS 2006 – Wael Badawy as Technical Program Chair.

SiPS 2007 – Nam Ling as Technical Program Co-Chair.

IWSoC'2006 – Wael Badawy as General Chair.

ICCSC 2006 - Alexander Korotkov as Program Chair.

MMM'2007 – Lap-Pui Chau, Area Chair.

ISNN'2007 - Wei Xing Zheng, Publicity Co-Chair.

IMS 2008 - Chang-Ho Lee, Committee Chair for Panel Session.

IEEE CAS Society - Magdy Bayoumi is VP Conferences.

... more?

Many TC members served in journal editorial boards, as tutorial speakers, conference committee members, etc., etc.

5. Action items:

- a. TC Web page: Shaheen to add new TC members and to include TC members whose names are missing back on to the TC web page.
- b. Gerald Sobelman, Lap-Pui Chau, and Chang-Ho Lee will continue to serve as ISCAS 2008 Track Co-Chairs to cover different areas in CASCOM. They will review technical subtracks for ISCAS 08 Technical Program. Areas such as cryptography & security for CAS may be considered.
- c. TC members are encouraged to submit proposals for ISCAS 2008 special sessions.
- d. There were some no shows and session chairs absences for CASCOM sessions at ISCAS 2007 track co-chairs will look into follow up actions for future selection of sessions and session chairs.
- e. TC members are encouraged to promote new and relevant topics in CASCOM area and contribute to IEEE Circuits & Systems Magazine & CAS newsletter.
- f. Gerald Sobelman will lead to put together an article on IEEE Circuits & Systems Magazine "Open Column".
- g. TC members are encouraged to create tutorials using "Expert Now".