Technical Committee – Circuits and Systems for Communications (CASCOM)

Annual Report 5/2007 – 5/2008 TC Chair for the period: Nam Ling

1. TC memberships and appointments:

- a. The TC now has 41 members, including 13 new members accepted by the TC this year:
 - Chen-Xiong (Philipp) Zhang, Hisilicon/Huawei Technologies, USA/China
 - Wee Ser, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
 - Andrea Neviani, University of Padova, Italy
 - Shoba Krishnan, Santa Clara University, USA
 - Yehia Massoud, Rice University, USA
 - Jin-Gyun Chung, Chonbuk University, South Korea
 - Zhongfeng Wang, Broadcom, USA
 - Xinming Huang, Worchester Polytechnic Institute, USA
 - Pui-In Mak, University of Macau, China
 - Weisi Lin, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
 - Zhiyuan Yan, Lehigh Univeristy, USA
 - Hanho Lee, Inha University, South Korea
 - Khurram Waheed, Texas Instruments, USA
- b. The TC has approved the following appointments effective May 2008:
 - TC Chair Gerald Sobelman (University of Minnesota, USA)
 - Nam Ling (Santa Clara University, USA) becomes TC Past Chair
 - TC Vice Chair Lap-Pui Chau (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
 - TC Secretary Chang-Ho Lee (Samsung Electro-Mechanics, USA)
 - TC Webmaster Mohamed Elgamel (University of Louisiana, USA)

2. ISCAS 2008 involvements:

- a. Our track (Track 5) received 201 papers, the 4th largest among the 18 tracks, 17 TCs.
- b. The track accepted 90 papers (45%) with 65 lecture papers and 25 poster papers.
- c. TC members Gerald Sobelman, Lap-Pui Chau, and Chang-Ho Lee served as CASCOM track co-chairs. TC members served as RCMs, reviewers, and as session chairs.
- d. Special Session "Digitally Enhanced Analog Circuits: Systems Aspects," organized by Heinz Koeppl (EPFL, Switzerland) & Christian Vogel (Graz University of Technology, Austria), endorsed by our TC.
- e. Special Session "Blind Signal Processing for MIMO Systems," organized by TC member Wei Xing Zheng (University of Western Sydney, Australia).
- f. Tutorial "Spatial Multiplexing (SM) MIMO Communication Based on Multiple Antennae," by Markku Juntti (University of Oulu, Finland) & Joseph R. Cavallaro (Rice University, U.S.A), endorsed by our TC.

3. Future ISCAS involvements:

- a. ISCAS 2009: CASCOM track chair will be Gerald Sobelman; co-chairs will be Lap-Pui Chau and Chang-Ho Lee.
- b. ISCAS 2012: Proposal presented by TC member Myung Sunwoo was accepted to organize the conference in Incheon, South Korea congratulations!
- c. ISCAS steering committee Magdy Bayoumi, Nam Ling.

4. Conferences co-sponsored by TC:

- a. The International Symposium on Wireless Prevasive Computing (ISWPC 2008) in Santorini, Greece.
- b. CAS-COM 2008 in Shanghai (several TC members were also involved in the Program Committee, Keynote speaker Magdy Bayoumi).

5. Awards & honors received by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. New IEEE Fellow (Jan 2008) Nam Ling.
- b. New IEEE Senior member (Oct 2007) Andrea Gerosa. Congratulations!

6. TC members' service on journal editorial boards (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. IEEE Trans. on Automatic Control Wei Xing Zheng, Assoc. editor.
- b. IEEE Trans. on Circuits and Systems-II Wei Xing Zheng, Assoc. editor.
- c. IEEE Trans. on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing Susanto Rahardja, Assoc. editor.
- d. IEEE Trans. on Multimedia Susanto Rahardja, Assoc. editor.
- e. IEEE Trans. on Broadcasting Lap-Pui Chau, Assoc. editor.
- f. IEEE Signal Processing Letters Lap-Pui Chau & Wei Xing Zheng, Assoc. editors.
- g. Journal of Circuits, Systems, and Computers Andrea Gerosa, Assoc. editor.
- h. Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation Susanto Rahardja, Assoc. editor.
- i. Mobile Networks and Applications (MONET) Journal Máire O'Neill, Special issue Guest editor.

7. Conferences <u>organized/chaired</u> by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. ICIP 2009 Magdy Bayoumi, General chair.
- b. ICME 2007 Susanto Rahardja, Track chair.
- c. ICME 2008 Susanto Rahardia, Technical program co-chair.
- d. APCCAS yearly Myung Sunwoo, Korean special sessions organizer.
- e. SiPS 2007 –Nam Ling, Technical program co-chair.
- f. PCM 2007 Lap-Pui Chau, Track chair.
- g. IEEE VLSI-Design, Automation, and Test 2008 Tzi-Dar Chiueh, Program chair.
- h. GLSVLSI 2008 Xinmiao Zhang, Publication chair.
- i. ISNN 2007 Wei Xing Zheng, Publicity co-chair.
- j. ICIEA 2007 Zhengguo Li, Technical co-chair.
- k. ICIEA 2008 Zhengguo Li, Finance chair.
- 1. ICICS 2007 Lap-Pui Chau, Track chair & Tutorial co-chair.
- m. IMS 2008 Chang-Ho Lee, Panel session chair.

- n. IEEK SOC Workshop 2008 Myung Sunwoo, General chair.
- o. ISOCC 2008 Myung Sunwoo, General co-chair.
- p. CCDC 2008 Zhengguo Li, Technical co-chair.
- q. ICARCV 2008 Zhengguo Li, Technical co-chair.
- r. eSTREAM Stream Cipher Retreat Matthew Robshaw, Organizer.

8. Participations in conference committees by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

Many of our TC members were active in many conference technical committees and organizing committees. The list of participations is very long, and therefore not listed here.

9. Books published by TC members:

- a. "OFDM Baseband Receiver Design for Wireless Communications" Tzi-Dar Chiueh and Pei-Yun Tsai, John Wiley and Sons, 2007.
- b. "Adaptive Nonlinear System Identification the Volterra and Wiener Model Approaches" Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Springer, 2007.
- c. "Introduction to MATLAB & SIMULINK A Project Approach", Third Edition Ottmar Beucher and Michael Weeks, Infinity Science Press, 2007.
- d. "New Stream Ciphers: The eSTREAM Finalists" Matthew Robshaw and Olivier Billet, ed. (in print).

10. Invited talks by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. SiPS 2007 Magdy Bayoumi, Keynote speaker.
- b. APCCAS 2008 Nam Ling, Keynote speaker.
- c. IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Gerald Sobelman (accepted from TC CASCOM, 08-09).
- d. IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Nam Ling (accepted from TC VSPC, 07-08).
- e. ASICON 2007 Gerald Sobelman, invited tutorial (with R. Harjani and A. Tewfik).
- f. IEEE CAS Vancouver/Victoria Section, Singapore Chapter, & Delhi Chapter Nam Ling, 4 invited DL talks.
- g. IEEE CAS Shanghai Section Gerald Sobelman, invited DL talk.
- h. NTU Int'l Workshop on IDM Res. (Singapore) 2008 Nam Ling, invited panelist.
- i. IEEE CAS Singapore Chapter & NTU Taiwan Myung Sunwoo, 2 invited talks.
- j. LESTER, Université de Bretagne-Sud, Lorient, France Gerald Sobelman, invited talk.
- k. National Cheng Kung Univ., Taiwan Gerald Sobelman, invited talk.
- 1. Fudan Univ., China Gerald Sobelman, invited talk.
- m. MWE 2007 Workshop Chang-Ho Lee, invited talk.
- n. SPEED 2007 Matthew Robshaw, invited talk.

11. Others professional activity by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. IEEE Signal Processing Society Santa Clara Valley Chapter Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Chair.
- b. IEEE Singapore Circuits and Systems Chapter Lap-Pui Chau, Secretary.
- c. IEEE UKRI Executive Committee Máire O'Neill, Treasurer.
- d. TC on Neural Systems and Applications Wei Xing Zheng, Chair-elect.
- e. TC on Blind Signal Processing Wei Xing Zheng, Secretary.
- f. APCCAS steering committee Wei Xing Zheng

TC website: http://www.ieee-cas.org/ → Technical Committees → CASCOM Web Sites.

End of Report.