Technical Committee – Circuits and Systems for Communications (CASCOM)

Annual Report 5/2006 – 5/2007 TC Chair: Nam Ling

1. General TC Activities updates:

- a. The TC now has 28 members. A few more have applied or being nominated this year. Gerald Sobelman is TC Chair-Elect, will become TC Chair at next year's ISCAS.
- b. New TC web page http://www.ieee-cas.org/ thanks to Shaheen (Mohamed Elgamel), our webmaster.
 - <u>http://www.ieee-cas.org/</u> → Technical Committees → CASCOM Web Sites.
- c. Our TC will be a technical co-sponsor for the International Symposium on Wireless Pervasive Computing (ISWPC 2008), in Santorini, Greece.
- d. Our TC will be involved in CAS-COM 2008 (Shanghai, China), a subconference of ICC 2008.
- e. IEEE Circuits & Systems Magazine Our TC will contribute to the "Open Column". Gerald Sobelman will lead this.

2. ISCAS 2007 involvement:

- a. Our track (Track 5) received 176 papers, the 4th largest among the 19 tracks and the 17 TCs. The track accepted 85 papers (48%) with 60 lecture papers and 25 poster papers.
- b. TC member Magdy Bayoumi served as General Chair, Nam Ling as Technical Program Co-Chair.
- c. TC members Gerald Sobelman, Lap-Pui Chau, and Chang-Ho Lee served as CASCOM track co-chairs; many as RCMs, reviewers, and as session chairs.
- d. Special session organized on behalf of our TC "Novel Cryptographic Architectures for Low-Cost RFID" by Matt Robshaw and Maire McLoone.
- e. TC member Gerald E. Sobelman gave tutorial on "Design of Programmable Wireless Networks aka Cognitive Radios."

3. Update on recent activities and conferences <u>organized/chaired</u> by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. IEEE CAS Society Magdy Bayoumi is Vice President for Conferences.
- b. ISCAS 2006 Magdy Bayoumi was Forum Session Chair, organized "Challenges and Future of Wireless Multimedia/Communications" forum, http://www.iscas06.org/.
- c. IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (SiPS) 2006 Wael Badawy served as Technical Program Chair.
- d. IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems (SiPS) 2007 Nam Ling serves as Technical Program Co-Chair.
- e. Int'l Workshop on System-on-chips (IWSoC) 2006 Wael Badawy served as General Chair.
- f. IEEE Int'l Conf. on Circuits & Systems for Communications (ICCSC) 2006 Alexander Korotkov served as Program Chair.
- g. Int'l Multimedia Modelling Conf. (MMM) 2007 Lap-Pui Chau served as Area Chair.

- h. Int'l Symp. on Neural Networks (ISNN) 2007 Wei Xing Zheng serves as Publicity Co-Chair.
- i. IEEE IMS 2008 Chang-Ho Lee serves as Committee Chair for Panel Session.

4. Awards & honors received by TC members (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. Gerald Sobelman Received Best paper award: Q. Zhang, G. E. Sobelman & T. He,
 "Gradient-Driven Target Location Acquisition in Mobile Wireless Sensor Networks,"
 Int'l Conf. on Mobile Ad-hoc and Sensor Network (MSN), Hong Kong, China, Dec. 13-15, 2006
- b. Chang-Ho Lee became IEEE Senior member in Nov. 2006.

5. Updates on TC members' service on journal editorial board (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. IEEE Transactions on Broadcasting Lap-Pui Chau, Associate Editor.
- b. IEEE Transactions on Multimedia - Lap-Pui Chau, Associate Editor.
- c. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control Wei Xing Zheng, Associate Editor.
- d. IEEE Signal Processing Letters Wei Xing Zheng, Associate Editor.
- e. Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Editorial Review Board Chang-Ho Lee, Member.
- f. Journal on Microwave Science and Technology Chang-Ho Lee, Associate Editor.

6. Updates on other conference activities by TC members (exclude session chairs) (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. Tutorial speakers Gerald E. Sobelman (PORTABLE 2007), Alexander Korotkov (the 2nd Russia Conference "Design problems of perspective microelectronics system" 2006).
- b. Technical Program Committee Members Tong Zhang (SiPS 2007, ICASSP 2007), Gerald Sobelman (ISCAS), Nam Ling (ISCAS, ICCE 2007, SiPS 2006, PCM 2007), Wei Xing Zheng (WCICA 2006, IJCNN 2006, SIGMAP'2006, ISIC'2006, APCCAS 2006, CDC 2006, ISSPA 2007, ICNSC 2007, CDC'2007), Chang-Ho Lee (ICCSC 2008, CAS-COM 2008, IMS 2007, RFIC 2007, NGMAST 2007), Alexander Korotkov (ELECO 2006).
- c. Steering Committees Wei Xing Zheng (APCCAS), Magdy Bayoumi (ISCAS).
- d. Technical Committees Chang-Ho Lee (MTT-20 for "Wireless Communications" at IMS 2007, Member for Late News and Sub-Committee Chair at IEEE RWS 2007).

7. Others professional activity updates (based on feedback from TC members):

- a. Tutorials given at Universities Gerald E. Sobelman at Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong, 2007.
- b. Secretary for other IEEE CAS TCs Wei Xing Zheng (Secretary, TC on Neural Systems and Applications; Secretary, TC on Blind Signal Processing).
- c. IEEE Distinguished Lecturer (DL) from other IEEE CAS TCs Nam Ling (DL from TC Visual Signal Processing & Communications).
- d. Book published Michael Weeks (Digital Signal Processing Using MATLAB and Wavelets, Infinity Science Press, 2006).

End of Report.