# Technical Committee – Circuits and Systems for Communications (CASCOM)

TC Meeting Minutes Date: May 23, 2012

Place: ISCAS 2012, Seoul, Korea

## Present:

Members: Lap-Pui Chau, Tokunbo Ogunfunmi, Zhiyuan Yan, An-Yeu (Andy) Wu, Vassilis Paliouras, Nam Ling, Susanto Rahardja, Paul Ampadu, Lan-Da Van, Magdy Bayoumi, Hassan Aboushady, Hanho Lee, Myung Sunwoo, Xinmiao Zhang.

Non-members (applying to become members): Hsi-Pin Ma, Jun Ma, Jongsun Park, Qiaoyan Yu, Zhengya Zhang.

#### 1. TC activities update:

- New TC web page http://ieee-cas.org/community/technical-committees/casctc.
- Lap-Pui Chau the current TC chair will become past chair and Chang-Ho Lee the TC Chairelect will become TC Chair after this meeting.
- Brief sample of TC member activities:
  - Associate Editors for IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems II, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, IEEE Transactions on Broadcasting, IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, IEEE Transactions on VLSI, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, IEEE Signal Processing Letters, etc ...
  - General chair: ISCAS 2012, 2011 International Conference on Adaptive Science & Technology, 2013 International Conference on Multimedia Expo
  - TPC chair: 2012 Workshop on Embedded Systems Security, 2012 Pacific Rim conference on Multimedia, 2012 Great Lakes Symposium on VLSI
  - Distinguished Lecturers for IEEE CAS Society, IEEE Broadcast Technology Society

## 2. TC involvement in ISCAS 2012:

- Our track (Track 3) received 184 papers, the 3<sup>rd</sup> largest track in ISCAS 2012. Of the 184 papers that were submitted to our track, 81 papers were accepted (44% acceptance rate) in 10 lecture sessions and 6 poster sessions. Track Co-Chairs are Lap-Pui Chau, Chang-Ho Lee and Shoba Krishnan.
- TC members Myung Sunwoo served as General Chair. And Hanho Lee, Nam Ling and Gerald E.
  Sobelman served as Secretary General, tutorial chair and special session in the organization committee respectively.

# 3. Action items in the meeting:

- Our TC nominated Gerald Sobelman and Lap-Pui Chau to CASS Plagiarism Committee.
- Dr. Zhiyuan Yan and Dr. Tokunbo Ogunfunmi expressed their interest for the chair-elect position.
  Dr. Tokunbo Ogunfunmi has been voted the new chair-elect. Owing to no one expressed an interest in TC secretary position before the meeting, so the new chair-elect will act as the TC secretary in the meanwhile.
- Our TC received 5 candidates expressed their interest to join our TC.
  - o Jun Ma, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
  - Zhengya Zhang, University of Michigan, USA
  - O Qiaoyan Yu, University of New Hampshire, USA
  - o Hsi-Pin Ma, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  - Jongsun Park, Korea University, Korea

All current members voted for the candidates.