



Biomedical and Life Science Circuits and Systems (BioCAS) Technical Committee Minutes

Date: May 28th, 2018 Time: 1:00pm – 2:00pm Venue: VV2.1 Firenze Fiera Congress and Exhibition Center, Florence, Italy Compiled by: Jennifer Blain Christen, Arizona State University, USA

Attendees

- 1. Pantelis Georgiou
- 2. Jennifer Blain Christen
- 3. Kea-Tiong (Samuel) Tang
- 4. Julius Georgiou
- 5. Tor Lande
- 6. Andrew Mason
- 7. Sara Ghoreishizadeh
- 8. Sandro Carrara
- 9. Siyu Liu
- 10. Ruochong Zhang
- 11. Wouter A. Serdijn
- 12. Iasonas Triantis
- 13. Virgilio Valente
- 14. Xiao Liu
- 15. Hong Chen
- 16. Hanjun Jiang
- 17. Guoxing Wang
- 18. Manuel Delgado_Restituto
- 19. Christoph Posch
- 20. Joachim Rodrigues
- 21. Pedram Mohseni
- 22. Mohamad Sawan
- 23. Konstantin Nikovic
- 24. Hadi Heidari
- 25. Zhihua Wang
- 26. Jun Ohta
- 27. Maurizio Valle
- 28. Timir Datta
- 29. Andreas Demosthenous
- 30. Dai Jiang
- 31. Angel Rodriguez-Vazquez
- 32. Man-Kay Law
- 33. Nicole Mcfarlane
- 34. Shuenn-Yuh Lee
- 35. Zheng Tuanjin
- 36. Liu Wgnye
- 37. Zhen Yue
- 38. Shintaro Izumi

pantelis@imperial.ac.uk Jennifer.blainchristen@asu.edu kttang@mx.nthu.edu.tw Julio@ucy.ac.cy bassen@ifi.uio.no mason@msu.edu s.ghoreishizadeh@imperial.ac.uk sandro.carrara@epfl.ch Shiu023@e.ntu.edu.sg Rsheng009@e.ntu.edu.sg w.a.serdijn@tudelft.nl i.triantis@city.ac.uk v.valente@ucl.ac.uk xiao@ucl.ac.uk hongchen@tsinghua.edu.cn jianghanjun@tsinghua.edu.cn guoxing@situ.edu.cn mandel@imse.cnm.csic.es cposch@prophesee.ei irs@cit.ith.se Prm89@cwru.edu mohamad.sawan@polymtl.ca k.nikotic@imperial.ac.uk Hadi.heidari@glasgow.ac.uk zhihua@tsinghua.edu.cn ohta@ms.naist.jp maurizio.valle@UNIGE.IT tdatta@NORTHWELL.EDU a.demosthenous@ucl.ac.ul d.jiang@ucl.ac.uk angel@imse-cnm.csic.es mklaw@umac.mo mcfarlane@utk.edu ieesyl@mail.ncku.edu.tw yjzheng@ntu.edu.sg Wliu015@e.ntu.edu.sg Yzheng015@e.ntu.edu.sg shin@cs28.cs.kobe-u.ac.jp

- 39. Kazuaki Sawada
- 40. Takashi Tikuda
- 41. Mayasm Ghovanloo
- 42. Orly Yadid-Pecht
- 43. Danilo Demarchi
- 44. Roman Genov
- 45. Benoit Gosselin
- 46. Ibrahim Elfadel
- 47. Matthew Johnston
- 48. Timothy Constandinou
- 49. Zhiping Lin
- 50. Melpomeni Kalofonou
- 51. Pamela Abshire
- 52. Gianluca Setti
- 53. Georges Gielen
- 54. Paul Sotiriadis

sawada@ee.tut.ac.jp tokuda@ms.naist.jp mgh@gatech.edu Orly.yadid-pecht@ucalgary.ca danilo.demarchi@polito.it roman@eecg.utoronto.ca Benoit.gosselin@gel.ulaval.ca Ibrahim.elfadel@ku.ac.ae Matthew.johnston@oregonstate.edu t.constandinou@imperial.ac.uk ezplin@ntu.edu.sg m.kalofonou@imperial.ac.uk pabshire@umd.edu Gianluca.setti@unife.it gielen@esat.kuleuven.be pps@ieee.org

1. Opening

Julio Georgiou welcomed the TC members and opened the meeting.

2. Introduction and Approval of the meeting agenda.

Julio Georgiou introduced the agenda and the TC unanimously approved the proposed agenda.

3. Minutes

The 2017 TC meeting minutes was approved unanimously.

4. Election of Officers

Past Chair – Julius Georgiou was elevated to Past Chair Chair - Kea-Tiong (Samuel) Tang was elevated to Chair

Chair- Elect – Jennifer Blain Christen was unanimously elected with no other nominees

Secretary – Pantelis Georgiou was nominated by Julius Georgiou with no other nominees and unanimously elected

5. Election of New Members

There were 11 nominations submitted prior to the TC meeting. The nominations were:

- 1) Prof Tetsu Tanaka (nominated by Prof. Jun Ohta)
- 2) Prof Kazuaki Sawada (nominated by Prof. Jun Ohta)
- 3) Prof Takashi Tokuda (nominated by Prof. Jun Ohta)
- 4) Dr Sara Ghoreishizadeh (nominated by Prof. Sandro Carrara)
- 5) Prof Shintaro Izumi (nominated by Kiichi Niitsu)
- 6) Prof Hong Chen (nominated by Hanjun Jiang)
- 7) Iason Triantis (nominated by Andreas Demosthenous)
- 8) Hadi Heidari (nominated by Mohamad Sawan)
- 9) Zheng Yuanjin (nominated by Julius Georgiou)
- 10) Elisa Donati (nominated by Giacomo Indiveri)
- 11) Melika Payvand (nominated by Giacomo Indiveri)

All 11 candidates were approved unanimously.

6. Proposed Changes to the Bylaws for Membership.

The changes to the bylaws that defined three membership levels as:

- 1. Full TC Member
 - Must contribute regularly otherwise are removed
 - Must show independent career path > PhD+2 years experience
- 2. Life TC Member
 - Very high profile, usually IEEE Fellows, occasionally contribute
- 3. Associate TC Member (no voting rights & no RCM status) Young postdocs < PhD+2 years that may not have a tenure track position and are not fully independent in career path

The TC members voted unanimously to modify the bylaws.

7. Election of new Life TC Members

The officers nominated the following four member to be our first group of Life TC members:

- 1) Prof Christopher Toumazou
- 2) Prof Tor Sverre Lande
- 3) Prof Andreas Andreou
- 4) Prof Mohammad Sawan

The TC members voted unanimously to elevate the four members to Life TC members.

8. TC Activities Report

- BioCAS track of ISCAS 2018
 - Submissions: 120 (9% decrease from 2017) (2017: 132, 2016: 123, 2015: 103, 2014: 120, 2013: 122, 2012: 163, 2011: 74, 2010: 85)
 - Submission tied for 3rd among TC
 - Accepted papers: 69 (6.9% of all accepted papers)
 - 8 lecture sessions, and 2 poster sessions.
 - 34 RCMs, a total of 567 reviewers were assigned, with an average of 4.7 reviewers per paper. The average review per paper received was 4.2
 - 18 members from the TC volunteered to serve as session chairs for the 8 lecture and 2 special sessions.
 - Mohamad Sawan and Guoxing Wang have arranged guest editors for the TBioCAS special issue.
- BioCAS track of ISCAS 2018, best paper award
 - Top 10 papers receiving highest scores were reviewed for best paper award.
 - o Award subcommittee: Philipp Hafliger, Sameer Sonkusale, Ge Tong
 - This year the winner is:
 - "Portable photoacoustic system for noninvasive blood temperature measurement" by Siyi Liu, Xiaohua Feng, Zhang Ruochong, Yuanjin Zheng
- BioCAS 2017
 - BioCAS 2017 was held in Turin, Italy from Oct. 19th to 21st.
 - A total of 306 papers were submitted to BioCAS'15, a 9% increase compared to BioCAS'16. Geographical representation of these submissions to the IEEE BioCAS 2017 is 27% from Asia/pacific, 43% from Europe, 21% from North American, 1 from Middle East/Africa, Austrailia, and South America.
 - Out of these, 207 papers were accepted by the technical program committee for presentation at the conference, which was an acceptance rate of 68%.
 - 54 Review Committee Member obtained a total of 1152 reviews

with an average of over 4 reviews per paper.

- FoodCAS 2017
 - Held in conjunction with BioCAS
 - 2 Keynote Speakers and 18 Scientific Oral Presentations
- IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (TBioCAS)
 - Editor in Chief: Mohamad Sawan
 - Deputy Editor-in-chief : Guoxing Wang
 - Sponsorship: IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society
 - Year in existence: 12
 - Time to review: 36.5 days to first decision and 57.1 days to final decision
 - Submissions increased 27.7% to currently 355 submissions annually.
 - The impact factor is 2.94, 5-year IF 3.66

9. New IEEE Fellows (congratulations)

- Andreas Demosthenous
- Pamela Abshire
- Rahul Sarpeshkar

10. ISCAS 2019

• Sapporo Japan is the location for ISCAS 2019.

11. BioCAS 2018

• Pedram Mohseni talked about BioCAS 2018 to be held in Cleveland, OH

12. Meeting Adjourned